Thread: KaliLinux on a vm or as dualboot

KaliLinux on a vm or as dualboot

Hi!

I recently installed Kali Linux on my pc next to windows 10(dual boot)
    But I was wondering can I run Kali Linux to it's maximum potential on a VM( assuming I have the right hardware).

For example, while I encounter any network sniffing problems because I am connected via a vm that is connected to my Windows host. Or any network related issue's?
    Because I think I would prefer running Kali Linux on a VM so I can easily multi task between Windows and Kali Linux.

Hardware:
    16GB of ddr4 RAM
    nvidia 970
    ssd 250gb (sata connected)
    I7 CPU
    1GB hdd

And my host software would be Windows 10 pro

I don't know if you would need to know the hardware information but I figured I would include it.

Ps: I am still A kali Linux noob nor is english my native language so sorry for any stupid mistakes in the post^^
    And if running Kali Linux in a vm is just as good as running it as a host OS, what software should I use to virtualize I only know VMware and Virtualbox and HyperV(Although I have not used HyperV before)
    Last edited by IcyeneNL; 2016-09-28 at 11:37.

I think it depends on your primary use of Kali. If it's mostly wireless work, I would definitely go native install (wireless in a VM has always been problematic for me).

Personally, I have 2 Kali installs in use: a dual boot, and a VM. Kali functions best for me as a native install on hard disk, but some tasks are easier in a virtual machine.

Yea I was afraid there would be some wireless issues in a VM, But it is kind of annoying to switch between Kali And Windows that is why I thought about running it in a VM but if I for example can't run a tool like wireshark properly on it the whole point of Linux Kali is kind of gone. Do you have any tips that could maybe help me?