Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Kali network manager blocks macchanger in rolling release?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2016-Oct
    Posts
    6

    Question Kali network manager blocks macchanger in rolling release?

    Hi everyone,

    I stumbled over some strange behaviour with macchanger in the latest rolling release of Kali

    When I change the MAC of my wifi card to a specific MAC address and enable the interface, the MAC is changed again.
    Even though the ifupdown.sh script in /etc/default/macchanger has been disabeld

    Code:
    root@kali:/etc/default# cat macchanger 
    # before bringing up any network interface, run macchanger. Careful, this is
    # not guaranteed to prevent leaking your real MAC address before the new one
    # gets assigned!
    #
    ENABLE_ON_POST_UP_DOWN=false
    
    root@kali:/etc/default# uname -a
    Linux kali 4.7.0-kali1-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.7.6-1kali1 (2016-10-17) x86_64 GNU/Linux
    
    
    # by default, macchanger runs on all network interfaces but loopback (lo).  If
    # you only want it to run on specific network interfaces, set them here:
    #
    #ENABLE_INTERFACES="wlan0"
    
    
    root@kali:/etc/NetworkManager# macchanger --mac=b4:30:52:9b:43:b5 wlan0
    Current MAC:   00:30:a2:ab:f5:3c (Lightner Engineering)
    Permanent MAC: 18:a6:f7:1c:f9:b7 (unknown)
    New MAC:       b4:30:52:9b:43:b5 (unknown)
    root@kali:/etc/NetworkManager# ifconfig wlan0
    wlan0: flags=4098<BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
            ether b4:30:52:9b:43:b5  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
            RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
            RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
            TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
            TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
    
    root@kali:/etc/NetworkManager# ifconfig wlan0 up
    root@kali:/etc/NetworkManager# ifconfig wlan0
    wlan0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
            ether 76:67:e9:b2:fe:22  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
            RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
            RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
            TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
            TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
    Am I blind or what do I miss here?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2013-Jul
    Posts
    843
    Read thru this thread and see if it helps you. There are several ways to approach the problem. This is MTeams solution but there are others.

    https://forums.kali.org/showthread.p...ight=netManmac

    Musket Teams

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2016-Oct
    Posts
    4

    oh sorry, not same little different for me :(

    I use external device for my wifi connection. In kali sana i can change that device's mac with TW but in rolling when i change
    my external device mac , i cant connect to web or it is changed to it real mac auto !!!
    My pc's wifi card is ok and it's mac cxan be changed by MACCHANGER . I use external device for good wifi speed only .
    So where is the problem ??
    I can change mac in windows of that device without problem , why not in rolling ?

    Please help this noob guys.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    This has been covered on the forum. It worked for me.

    https://forums.kali.org/showthread.p...-randomizes-it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2016-Oct
    Posts
    2
    What happens if you change your MAC with hwether ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2016-Oct
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Mendaxiom View Post
    What happens if you change your MAC with hwether ?
    hwether ? pls explain.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2016-10-12, 16:23
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2016-01-27, 07:24
  3. error in apt-get install network-manager network-manager-gnome
    By arsham in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2014-10-05, 20:40

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •