Thread: I successfully installed Kali in one USB but now I can't seem to do it again

I successfully installed Kali in one USB but now I can't seem to do it again

I successfully installed Kali on a PNY 3.0 16GB USB. I did it using these steps:

-Downloaded Kali off the official website
    -Installed the iso into the USB using Universal USB Installer
    -Used Mini Partition Wizard Free to partition the USB because I wanted to install persistence
    -Changed the boot priority in BIOS on my laptop
    -Boom - done. It boots up.

I wanted to install Kali on a SanDisk USB for a friend. I did the SAME EXACT STEPS -including downloading another copy off the website - and when I plugged my USB into my laptop, I got the following error:
    "No DEFAULT or UI configuration directive found!"

Since I'm new to this, I thought it was the USB and used another USB that was the same exact model as the one that works, just for the sake of limiting the variables.

Still got the same error.

I plugged in both my first Kali bootable USB and the new one I tried to make and compared the files side-by-side on Windows File Explorer. I noticed that in the new USB, some files were missing. I copied them from my first USB to the new one in hopes that it would fix the missing pieces - but still nothing. I this time got simple "Boot error."

I then thought maybe the new download I got from the website was somehow corrupted. Luckily I saved the first iso image I ever downloaded. I used that - and oddly enough those missing files installed correctly. But the OS still wouldn't boot - this time no error came up. Simply put - nothing happens. The screen is black except for a flashing small white bar on the top left.