Thread: [HELP] Installing Kali Linux on a Nvidia Optimus system

[SOLVED] Installing Kali Linux on a Nvidia Optimus system

Hi everyone, first of all i just want to say i'm glad to join such a helpful community as this. And to clear it up, I do know computer (just a university student), but not that well, especially Linux since I have never used Linux before. I wanted to install Kali Linux on my machine just for a learning experience in computer security (it all seems very intriguing). However I have been stucked with these errors for the last couple of days trying to install the OS.

Here are my machine specs:

Dell Inspiron 7559
    i7-6700HQ
    8GB RAM
    Nvidia 960M GPU
    Windows 10 Pro 1607
    BIOS mode: UEFI Version: 3.0

Method of OS installation: through bootable USB, Dual-boot system

I have successfully installed Kali on my HDD, however, when I boot it up, right after I enterd my credentials at the login screen, the machine freezes. And as my searches show, it is due to the fact that my machine have a dedicated discrete graphics card, being the Nvidia 960M, as well as an on board one, which is the Intel HD Graphics 530. This is the Optimus configuration by Nvidia as far as I read. And it is a frequent issues with many threads have already been created about this issue. However, after almost a week of searching, I have tried many various solutions around the web (obviously not every single one of them since some are very long, confusing and I do not know how to execute them) but they all give me the same errors, such as these:

"watchdog did not stop"
    "detected stalls on CPU"
    "NMI watchdong bug soft lock-up"

these are the ones I could written down, as the errors screen runs in a loop.

The solutions I have tried are:

- https://forums.kali.org/showthread.p...an-t-start-gui tried: installing Nvidia drivers, but get errors at dist-upgrade, even if skip dist-upgrade entirely still get errors at install nvidia drivers itself.