Thread: Surface laptop keyboard not working/recognized

Surface laptop keyboard not working/recognized

Hello, Let me first start off by saying I am relatively new to Linux as a whole and have spent around 15-20 hours of my time trying to get the surface laptop keyboard to work. I have tried 2017-W34 and the track-pad won't work at all in that version or any mouse I try to connect to the surface laptop so that's a no go. In my current config Kali doesn't even seen the keyboard as being connected. I can boot into windows and find the device ID and I attempted to add it manually in to a folder(i forgot the name of it i tried this very early on) and it would not work. I think adding the device ID will be the solution but I am not sure where exactly would be the right place to add it in. I have tried re-installing kali several times and using the ubuntu and debian patches floating around online and to no avail they don't work. I tried this one right before I wrote this up, https://lkml.org/lkml/2014/11/3/1016. See below as to where I am at now.

I attempted this https://forums.kali.org/showthread.p...-Surface-Pro-4 and it didn't fix it.

Using 2017.1 I updated with below commands
    apt-get update
    apt-get upgrade
    apt-get dist-upgrade
    restart
    sudo apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r)
    restart
    (tried the keyboard nothing)

My current Uname -a
    Linux kali 4.12.0-kali1-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.12.6-1kali1 (2017-08-18) x86_64 GNU/linux