Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: ~Unable To Add "Non Root User", To Kali Linux~

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    On Mars
    Posts
    1

    ~Unable To Add "Non Root User", To Kali Linux~

    After multiple installs on multiple systems & a plethora of research, I'm stumped? After installing Kali Linux 32 on a few different systems the first thing I wanted to do was create a "Non-Root", or "Standard User", account. So I went into terminal & have spent over six hours trying every configuration possible trying to add a new user account? All is apparently well until that is it's time to "Switch Users")-: In other words I can create the account in terminal by entering either "useradd", or "adduser", along with "Pwd", however when it comes time to "Switch Users", the operating system just seems to loop me back to root account? I have read numerous threads about this exact same issue on a myriad of different forum scattered across the net! If anyone has any ideas or has encounted the same issue here with a soloution that would be GREAT! I'm so desperate I was even willing to pay somone on Fiver.com who might have a soloution with respect to the afformentioned. Again for clarification purpouses this seems to be a problem for many Kali, users going back from it appears to 2013. Thanks in advance... your help is greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    /dev/sda
    Posts
    656
    I didn't try with terminal but I did create Standard user account from account settings.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    California
    Posts
    6
    Which version of Kali?

    What were the EXACT commands you used?

    In a terminal...

    To create the account 'username':
    Code:
    adduser username
    To add 'username' to sudoers:
    Code:
    adduser username sudo
    To switch users, you will be asked for the 'username' password.
    Code:
    su - username
    Last edited by broomdodger; 2017-10-11 at 05:34 PM.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    California
    Posts
    6
    If you want to switch user for the desktop gui,
    you need to logout of root and login as username.

    I previously outlined how to switch user WITHIN terminal.

    Which one is your intent?
    - switch user in terminal
    - switch user desktop
    Last edited by broomdodger; 2017-10-11 at 02:14 PM.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by strangedays View Post
    I can create the account in terminal by entering either "useradd", or "adduser", along with "Pwd"
    I can't solve your case but I can confirm that I never had a problem with "adduser"/"useradd" and switching via GUI. I use it from Kali 2016.2 on. I used it with 64bit and am using it with Kali 2017.1 32bit, works fine.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •