Thread: bash: apt... command not found

bash: apt... command not found

For some reason Kali Linux says apt command not found or apt... command not found and I do not know why. I am on Kali rolling release and installed an update recently and it seems to have come from that. I'm a noob with Kali and am not sure what other information would be useful to give other than that I have tried things from other people with this issue like installing the binaries but can't seem to get that to work. At the end of the day, if I can't fix this then I'm happy to completely wipe the system as I am triple booting. Any help would be really appreciated and let me know if there is anything I can do to help you help me. Thanks.

Here are my hardware specs:

7.2 GiB of RAM
    AMD® A4-5000 apu with radeon(tm) hd graphics × 4 processor
    AMD® Kabini graphics
    Kali GNU/Linux Rolling 64-bit base system
    300.8 GB disc space

Here is my software version:

root@Adam:~# lsb_release -a
    No LSB modules are available.
    Distributor ID: Kali
    Description: Kali GNU/Linux Rolling
    Release: kali-rolling
    Codename: kali-rolling
    root@Adam:~#

root@Adam:/# apt

bash: apt: command not found

root@Adam:/# apt-get

bash: apt-get: command not found

root@Adam:/# apt-get update

bash: apt-get: command not found

root@Adam:/#

Edit: Now I think about it, it let me run this apt command (apt-get install dirmngr apt-transport-https) but no apt commands after it. Could it be that that is what caused it? I was just following the instructions here

It doesn't make any sense the command is not found. I would recommend wiping the disk and reinstalling.

In any case, installing other repos is not recommended and will break your Kali, sooner or later.

I looked at that VPN provider and it seems like you don't need to install anything other than openvpn from the Kali repos if you choose their openvpn option.