Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Missing proper screen resolution in VMWare after dist-upgrade to Kali 2017.3

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2015-Feb
    Posts
    9

    Missing proper screen resolution in VMWare after dist-upgrade to Kali 2017.3

    I've performed a dist-upgrade on my Kali VM and everything works fine except for the screen resolution which defaults to 1280x768 instead of 1920x1080.

    My setup:
    Kali XFCE running inside VMWare hypervisor. Host is Windows 10 x64.

    Code:
    [root:~]# uname -a
    Linux kali 4.13.0-kali1-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.13.13-1kali1 (2017-11-17) x86_64 GNU/Linux
    [root:~]# cat /etc/os-release
    PRETTY_NAME="Kali GNU/Linux Rolling"
    NAME="Kali GNU/Linux"
    ID=kali
    VERSION="2017.3"
    VERSION_ID="2017.3"
    ID_LIKE=debian
    ANSI_COLOR="1;31"
    HOME_URL="http://www.kali.org/"
    SUPPORT_URL="http://forums.kali.org/"
    BUG_REPORT_URL="http://bugs.kali.org/"
    [root:~]# cat /etc/issue                          
    Kali GNU/Linux Rolling \n \l
    Upgraded from Kali 2017.1 and kernel 4.0.9.

    Not using vmware tools but open-vm-tools.

    Everything else (copy and paste, shared folders, etc) work fine.

    I have a simple init script which at the moment fixes the screen resolution:
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    xrandr --newmode "1920x1080_60.00"  173.00  1920 2048 2248 2576  1080 1083 1088 1120 -hsync +vsync
    xrandr --addmode Virtual1 1920x1080_60.00
    xrandr --output Virtual1 --mode 1920x1080_60.00
    But I really don't know where/what to do inorder to natively fix it.
    I see no warnings/errors in logs.

    VMWare view has not been modified from its previous settings (Full Screen, Autofit Guest).

    Anyone who can give me hints on how to debug this issue?

    Thanks a lot

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2016-Dec
    Posts
    806
    Have you upgraded the VM version itself (not Kali, the VM)? Without doing it, I can't get full screen to work

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2015-Feb
    Posts
    9
    What do you mean by "upgrade the VM version itself"?
    Update the VMWare Workstation version?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2015-Feb
    Posts
    9
    It seems libresolutionSet.so is not loaded at all on my system now:
    Code:
    [root:~]# ps -aux | grep vm   
    root        299  0.0  0.0   4220   820 ?        Ss   13:21   0:00 fusermount -o rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,allow_other,auto_unmount,subtype=vmhgfs-fuse -- /mnt/hgfs
    root        300  0.0  0.0 233276   912 ?        Ssl  13:21   0:00 vmhgfs-fuse .host:/ /mnt/hgfs -o rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,allow_other,uid=1000,gid=1000,auto_unmount
    root        937  0.4  0.3 236956 26248 ?        S    13:24   0:00 /usr/bin/vmtoolsd -n vmusr
    root       1188  0.0  0.0  12748   948 pts/0    S+   13:26   0:00 grep --color=always vm
    Code:
    [root:~]# lsof -p 937 | grep libresolution
    No output.

    How can I fix this?
    Thanks a lot

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2018-Jan
    Posts
    2
    I have exactly the same problem after the update, and create the screen resolution script but when restarting the virtual machine the resolution is changed, I understand that we have to add the script that is executed at the beginning, but in kali it is not that option in GUI format to add applications to be executed when starting kali

Similar Threads

  1. 2020.4 kali icons missing after dist-upgrade
    By mechgt in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2020-12-11, 09:40
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2017-12-23, 05:50
  3. 2017.3 VMWare images missing
    By backt in forum General Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2017-11-30, 00:22
  4. Running apt-get dist-upgrade in 2017-02 breaks VM copy/paste and drag/drop
    By Cryptomancer in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2017-11-14, 11:40
  5. Black screen after login after upgrade/dist-upgrade
    By pendragyn in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 2017-03-29, 10:13

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •