Thread: Persistence not working on Kali Linux Live USB - Mac OS High Sierra

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Persistence not working on Kali Linux Live USB - Mac OS High Sierra

Hello,

I hope this finds you all well. I'm new to Kali Linux so please bare with me. I do have a bit of knowledge of terminal however.

I have created a Kali Linux Live USB using Mac Linux USB Loader. I used a clean 32Gb Sandisk USB stick and i'm operating a Mac with OSX High Sierra.

I have followed numerous tutorials which are pretty similar and the Live USB i created seems to work fine. I have not been able to try out all the applications or with it connected to a network yet but thats not why i'm posting as i want to get persistence working before going down those routes.

During set up I created an initial partition called Kali Linux and gave it 10Gb space (MSDOS(fat)). Using Mac Linux USB Loader i put kali-linux-2018.2-amd64.iso. After that i went into the Advanced USB setup options and edited the enterprise configuration file by putting persistence at the end of Kali.

On rebooting and holding the option key i'm greeted with the options to go back into my MacOS or use EFI. I click EFI and then given 2 options. One is to boot into Kali Linux and the other is the same but with more advanced options. Going into option 2 is where i can find an option (option 5) to boot using some sort of reference to persistence. In option 2, there are around 7 options in all. I have attached an image of these setting, hopefully you'll be able to see it.

Question 1:
    Why am i not getting the standard blue Kali Linux Boot Menu that everyone else seems to get (pictured) where I can boot into Live USB persistence?

When i click either option 1 or 2 i'm presented with these errors;

Welcome to GRUB

error: file ‘/boot/grub/x86_64-efi/zfs.mod’ not found.
    error: file ‘/boot/grub/x86_64-efi/xsf.mod’ not found.
    error: file ‘/boot/grub/x86_64-efi/ufs2.mod’ not found.