Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: GUI is frozen at login

  1. #1

    GUI is frozen at login

    Hello, I'm having an issue with the GUI being frozen when I try and login. I have all the latest package/firmware updates, and I am using KDE plasma desktop. Basically when I boot up, I can see the GUI and login page, but as soon as I try and login it just freezes. I switched to the terminal by pressing CTRL-3, and I used htop and I checked dmesg and other log files but I can't find any reason why it would be crashing. Can someone help me troubleshoot this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2018-Nov
    Posts
    12
    Hello, did you tried to click on the little engine icon and change from KDE to system x11 default and see if it works?
    also you can try this, during booting enter recovery mode, after that log in as root and type
    nano /etc/default/grub

    go to the line GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash" and add acpi=off at the end. so it will look like this GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash acpi=off" it could be possible "splash" is missing but it should work anyway.
    after this press CTRL+X then Y and Enter
    type sudo update-grub and then reboot. let me know what happend.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2013-Apr
    Location
    Kali forums
    Posts
    805
    Hmm, am guessing it's a video card issue; what kind is it? While I don't have one, Nvidia cards have seemed problematic in the past. Do you get the same problem when using the gnome GUI?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2016-Dec
    Location
    California
    Posts
    33
    To clarify...
    + boot to GUI login screen... works
    + type username and password... works
    + click Login then hang

    If that is correct then
    continually and vigorously move the mouse pointer around the screen

    Does the mouse pointer freeze?
    --or--
    Does login continue to the desktop?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2018-Feb
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by n0r View Post
    Hello, did you tried to click on the little engine icon and change from KDE to system x11 default and see if it works?
    also you can try this, during booting enter recovery mode, after that log in as root and type
    nano /etc/default/grub

    go to the line GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash" and add acpi=off at the end. so it will look like this GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash acpi=off" it could be possible "splash" is missing but it should work anyway.
    after this press CTRL+X then Y and Enter
    type sudo update-grub and then reboot. let me know what happend.

    code worked thanks but keyboard and mouse not working after login

    To clarify...
    + boot to GUI login screen... works
    + type username and password... works
    + click Login .....works
    + after login keyboard and mouse ...hangs not working
    Last edited by cipherhat; 2018-11-12 at 08:00. Reason: Merging posts

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2018-Nov
    Posts
    12
    It seems that you have a problem with Xorg.
    Can you please post your xorg.conf file to see what's going on. You can find it in etc/X11/xorg.conf

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2018-Feb
    Posts
    4
    https://prnt.sc/lhvwrd
    no xorg.conf

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2018-Nov
    Posts
    12
    Ok it doesn't matter, let's try this.. Enter recovery mode.
    Put your root password and type
    Code:
    apt install xserver-xorg-input-all
    reboot

    Sometimes it may happen that you are not able to use your connection, in this case use a cabled connection or
    Type
    Code:
    service network-manager start
    It's possible anyway that you need to manually connect to your network you can do it by this
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    or your wlan id, using only ifconfig you can know what is your wlan id
    Code:
    iwlist wlan0 scan
    when you find your networkuse this to connect
    Code:
    iwconfig wlan0 essid YOURNETWORKID key s:YOURWIRLESSKEY
    I really hope you can solve this!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2018-Feb
    Posts
    4
    Having issues connecting to wifi via command line and i don't have a LAN keep getting SET failed on device wlan0; operation already in progress

  10. #10
    Join Date
    2018-Nov
    Posts
    12
    So try check whats your wlanID, using ifconfig command you are able to see it. Maybe is not wlan0.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    2018-Feb
    Posts
    4
    ran this commands "apt install xserver-xorg-input-all" "reboot"

    but still same login issues

  12. #12
    Join Date
    2016-Dec
    Posts
    806
    connecting to a wifi network via the command line has to be done via wpa_supplicant regardless of the encryption, not iwconfig (and in this example, it is limited to WEP networks). dhclient has to be run after connection to the AP.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    2019-Jun
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by n0r View Post
    Hello, did you tried to click on the little engine icon and change from KDE to system x11 default and see if it works?
    also you can try this, during booting enter recovery mode, after that log in as root and type
    nano /etc/default/grub

    go to the line GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash" and add acpi=off at the end. so it will look like this GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash acpi=off" it could be possible "splash" is missing but it should work anyway.
    after this press CTRL+X then Y and Enter
    type sudo update-grub and then reboot. let me know what happend.
    It worked- awesome sauce- thanks man

  14. #14
    Join Date
    2019-Jun
    Posts
    3
    I have a similar problem, although I cannot boot into the GUI and get a failed to start entropy daemon, failed to start modem manager, failed to start hostname service.

    Ctrl-Alt-F3 took me to terminal, where I tried a systemctl => "systemctl status systemd-hostnamed.service" for details as instructed on the failed boot page.

    The systemctl command above returned:
    => Failed to run 'start' task: No space left on device
    => Failed with result 'resources'
    => Failed to start Hostname Service

    I have tried to update or upgrade and no command has been initialised, but keeps returning an error that ends with No space left on device.

    I initially had 8.3GB of free disk space which mysteriously disappeared while I was working and the system shutdown and won't boot into the GUI anymore.

    When I type "ls" at the terminal prompt folders are listed in blue.
    I can "cd" into directories.

Similar Threads

  1. Frozen Persistence
    By n3mph in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2019-09-23, 18:33
  2. Frozen at tty1 login
    By Rendaime in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2016-08-06, 20:23
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2016-02-21, 04:46

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •