Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Installing Kali KDE in 240 SSD + 1TB + 8GB RAM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2018-Nov
    Location
    Manila
    Posts
    2

    Installing Kali KDE in 240 SSD + 1TB + 8GB RAM

    Hi Guys,

    I have just upgraded my Core-i3 laptop with a 240GB SSD + 1TB HDD + 8GB RAM, and have installed Kali KDE [freshly downloaded and installed]

    I was assuming that it would boot and run much faster than the usual but I think the setup was still the same as what I had previously had before the upgrade.

    below is my current partition scheme:

    NAME MAJ:MIN RM SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
    [SSD]
    sda 8:0 0 223.6G 0 disk
    ├─sda1 8:1 0 487M 0 part /boot
    └─sda2 8:2 0 139.7G 0 part /

    [HDD]
    sdb 8:16 0 931.5G 0 disk
    ├─sdb1 8:17 0 186.3G 0 part /home
    ├─sdb2 8:18 0 1K 0 part
    ├─sdb3 8:19 0 7.5G 0 part [SWAP]
    ├─sdb5 8:21 0 186.3G 0 part /usr
    └─sdb6 8:22 0 186.3G 0 part /var

    I already have the latest drivers/firmwares for the SSD.

    I have moved mostly all the moving part on the HDD for storage purposes and had kept boot and / in SSD.

    I also did some google searches on how to optimize the setup for the SSD, I have found some tips but i think it's still not that optimal.

    below is my fstab configuration [still untouched]

    # / was on /dev/sda2 during installation
    UUID=0d017bdc-c312-4fd7-8d5a-96f7223ee953 / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
    # /boot was on /dev/sda1 during installation
    UUID=89568a4b-11e4-4020-bedb-e5fc73ef5219 /boot ext2 defaults 0 2
    # /home was on /dev/sdb1 during installation
    UUID=97036e80-fdf0-4cb2-b75c-168fa4f3d99c /home ext4 defaults 0 2
    # /usr was on /dev/sdb5 during installation
    UUID=c5970950-f83f-4d96-9cda-6831b556996a /usr ext4 defaults 0 2
    # /var was on /dev/sdb6 during installation
    UUID=5fb32d8b-b58a-45ee-8083-46875d0d2208 /var ext4 defaults 0 2
    # swap was on /dev/sdb3 during installation
    UUID=ae7a7d11-3904-44c8-aa04-5d08592c3969 none swap sw 0 0

    and also what I noticed is that when the system boots up a command prompt asking me to login on tty1 is displayed then after a minute the Logon GUI kicks in.

    I would like to ask some of your insights on this and if possible kindly point me to the right thread [if there is something like that already] so I may learn how to properly setup the system optimally.

    regards,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2016-Dec
    Posts
    372
    You can add noatime. It may help a little bit. And using the default which is to put all files in one partition, maybe with the exception of home.

    A few possible limiting factors:
    - i3 is not that fast of a CPU
    - SSD speed


    Basically, you can look up any Linux guide and it would apply here. A quick search gave me: https://www.reddit.com/r/archlinux/c...ions_for_ssds/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2018-Nov
    Location
    Manila
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Mister_X View Post
    You can add noatime. It may help a little bit. And using the default which is to put all files in one partition, maybe with the exception of home.

    A few possible limiting factors:
    - i3 is not that fast of a CPU
    - SSD speed


    Basically, you can look up any Linux guide and it would apply here. A quick search gave me: https://www.reddit.com/r/archlinux/c...ions_for_ssds/

    I will take a look on the link that you have provided. A million thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2016-12-22, 09:35
  2. Installing and updating packages also installing kali repo issues.
    By gogito in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2016-08-15, 18:52
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2016-01-12, 14:07

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •