Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: I think i might have a broken install

  1. #1

    I think i might have a broken install

    my download of kali linux is unable to locate packages with the apt-get command and the dpkg command is missing dependencies,
    im runing this on a 2011 macbook pro as my main OS
    my repositories are :

    # Rolling Repository

    deb http://http.kali.org/kali kali-rolling main non-free contrib


    the source list was empty when i installed it i added that
    i also tried installing python 3.7.2 unzipped the file ./configure , then make then make install but when i check the version number it still 2.7

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2016-Dec
    Posts
    616
    Not sure how you installed python 3.7.

    If you changed the sources.list, you need to run apt update to update the list of packages before trying to install any package. If the file was empty, the cache of packages was empty, so it wouldn't find anything.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2016-Dec
    Posts
    616
    By the way, python 3.7 is already installed on Kali.

    Not knowing what state it is in with that python install, I'd recommend reinstalling and when prompted to use a network mirror during the install, say yes, even if you don't have a network connection at the time.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2016-Mar
    Posts
    30
    change your sources to only include these 2 lines

    deb https://http.kali.org/kali kali-rolling main non-free contrib
    deb-src https://http.kali.org/kali kali-rolling main non-free contrib

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2016-Dec
    Posts
    616
    quarinteen, that will change litterally nothing. In your case, there might be an IDS at your ISP preventing access to it (and they can't analyze the HTTPS).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2016-Mar
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by Mister_X View Post
    quarinteen, that will change litterally nothing. In your case, there might be an IDS at your ISP preventing access to it (and they can't analyze the HTTPS).
    I am the security architect where I work so no ids or anything was blocking me.

    For what ever it worked for me. I am not sure what happened but about 6 weeks ago something changed. In order to get a fresh install updated I found I had to change http to https on the protocol part of the url. Dont change http inside the url to https. Once that is done I was able to do apt-get update.

    Then there was other issues with the upgrade so I then had to go through and manually install apt, dpkg, gnome desktop items and linux kernal update package. I just did an apt list --upgradable and dumped it into a text file then went through the text and picked what I thought was most important.

    Once those packages were installed I was able to do apt-get upgrade for the rest and they installed fine. If this works for you make sure to mark all the packages you installed as auto because they will be marked as manual and next time you update you will have issues. so use apt-mark auto <package> you can get a list with apt-mark showmanual.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2016-Mar
    Posts
    30
    YOu can also try apt-get --fix-broken install or apt-get build-dep dpkg

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2016-Dec
    Posts
    616
    @quarinteen, apt-get --fix-broken should not be needed unless apt tell you to run it. apt-get build-dep dpkg is not needed either. Your issue has nothing to do with what @uhmdontremember reported.


    Unless you can show the exact error, as you claim in multiple posts, your issue strongly indicates a network issue.

Similar Threads

  1. Broken Gnome Install
    By VentGrey in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2016-02-28, 07:10

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •