Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Wifite on Nexus 5 fails at setting monitor mode

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2014-Mar
    Posts
    25

    Wifite on Nexus 5 fails at setting monitor mode

    I just installed NethunterOS, and Wifite fails at the monitor mode stage. If I set monitor mode first with start monstart-nh, wifite immediately fails with:

    Looking for wireless interfaces...
    error too many values to unpack
    And then a few trace lines indicating a possible monitor mode issue.

    If I run wifite with monitor mode off, and then select wlan0, it fails like this:

    Select wireless interface (1-2):2
    enabling monitor mode on wlan0... failed
    failed

    Error: Cannot find any interfaces in Mode:Monitor

    Any ideas what this could be?
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2016-Dec
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    247
    You need a external wifi adapter because the internal one doesnt support moniter mode

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2014-Mar
    Posts
    25
    My impression was the internal Wifi on the Nexus 5 was supported, with Nexmon.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2016-Dec
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    247
    ?? Is that part of nethunter or do u need to install it?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2014-Mar
    Posts
    25
    I believe it's included in Nethunter.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2017-Jan
    Posts
    75
    Yes, netmon is included.

    Quote Originally Posted by RChadwick View Post
    If I set monitor mode first with start monstart-nh, wifite immediately fails
    On my Nexus 5 with Nethunter (Kali 2017.1 aka 3.4.0; Android 7.1 - Lineage OS) this does the job:

    Code:
    source monstart.nh
    wifite -i wlan0
    The commands have to be in the same terminal window.

    Bytheway: Unhappily Kismet is not working with netmon.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2014-Mar
    Posts
    25
    Thanks for the response!
    When I use your commands in the same window, I get the same 'Too many values to unpack' error. I've installed Nethunter 10 different times in 5 different way on this phone. Currently I'm on LineageOS with Android 7.1. I'm sure I installed it wrong. Do you know the steps you took to install Nethunter?
    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2017-Jan
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by RChadwick View Post
    Do you know the steps you took to install Nethunter?
    Sorry, I'm afraid I can't help. As far as I remember I followed Binkybear's instructions: https://gist.github.com/binkybear/8f...2f47c3c3edd08e

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2014-Mar
    Posts
    25
    Thanks. I'm using the same. I'm suspecting it's a wifite issue.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    2016-Dec
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    247
    Tell me if im doing something wrong with my commands on my nethunter device running android 6.0.0 marshmallow with the image from the official nethunter download page of offensive security build # 3.0

    root@kali:~# uname -a
    Linux kali 3.4.0-gb7558f2 #2 SMP PREEMPT Wed Oct 7 02:16:12 UTC 2015 armv7l GNU/Linux


    root@kali:~# source monstart.nh
    -bash: monstart.nh: No such file or directory
    root@kali:~# wifite -i wlan0

    .;' `;,
    .;' ,;' `;, `;, WiFite v2 (r87)
    .;' ,;' ,;' `;, `;, `;,
    :: :: : ( ) : :: :: automated wireless auditor
    ':. ':. ':. /_\ ,:' ,:' ,:'
    ':. ':. /___\ ,:' ,:' designed for Linux
    ':. /_____\ ,:'
    / \

    [+] set interface :wlan0

    [!] the program cowpatty is not required, but is recommended
    [+] scanning for wireless devices...
    [!] could not find wireless interface "wlan0" in monitor mode [+] enabling monitor mode on wlan0... done [+] available wireless devices:
    1. phy0 p2p0 ?????? Broadcom 4335/4339
    2. phy0 wlan0 ?????? Broadcom 4335/4339
    [+] select number of device to put into monitor mode (1-2): 2
    [+] enabling monitor mode on phy0... done
    [+] available wireless devices:
    1. phy0 p2p0 ?????? Broadcom 4335/4339
    2. phy0 wlan0 ?????? Broadcom 4335/4339
    [+] select number of device to put into monitor mode (1-2): 2
    [+] enabling monitor mode on phy0... done
    [+] available wireless devices:
    1. phy0 p2p0 ?????? Broadcom 4335/4339
    2. phy0 wlan0 ?????? Broadcom 4335/4339
    [+] select number of device to put into monitor mode (1-2): 1
    [+] enabling monitor mode on phy0... done
    [+] available wireless devices:
    1. phy0 p2p0 ?????? Broadcom 4335/4339
    2. phy0 wlan0 ?????? Broadcom 4335/4339
    [+] select number of device to put into monitor mode (1-2): 2
    [+] enabling monitor mode on phy0... done
    [+] available wireless devices:
    1. phy0 p2p0 ?????? Broadcom 4335/4339
    2. phy0 wlan0 ?????? Broadcom 4335/4339

    Endlessly asking me what interface to select.
    Even if i select 1 or 2.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    2017-Jan
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by bigbiz View Post
    -bash: monstart.nh: No such file or directory
    Obviously nexmon is not working correctly or even installed. Are you talking about Nexus 5 and using a binkybear-build with nexmon?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    2014-Mar
    Posts
    25
    As an update, monitor mode is working fine for me, and I'm using Besside. It is the latest Wifite that has an issue. This is of course with blinkybear.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    2017-Jan
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by RChadwick View Post
    It is the latest Wifite that has an issue.
    Wifite v2 (r87) is working fine on my nethunter nexus 5.

Similar Threads

  1. wifite loops back when selecting adapter for monitor mode
    By donThomaso in forum NetHunter General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2017-01-07, 18:15
  2. Monitor-mode automatically disabled after Reaver/Wifite command
    By hypergolicBifi in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2016-12-16, 11:12
  3. Nexus 5 monitor mode without usb wifi card
    By Anarkad in forum NetHunter General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2016-09-03, 01:53
  4. Monitor mode, error getting flags - Nexus 4
    By 09stephenb in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2015-08-15, 12:32
  5. Kali Menu (wifite, monitor mode, wash, etc) not workin
    By Jamborloi in forum NetHunter General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2015-01-20, 04:43

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •