Results 1 to 33 of 33

Thread: black screen mouse pointer only

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2013-Oct
    Posts
    16

    black screen mouse pointer only

    Hi All,

    Just did an apt-get dist-upgrade as i tend to do every few weeks but now upon boot all i get is a black screen with mouse pointer but no prompt for login and thus no desktop, there is a small cursor on the top left of the screen if that makes any difference.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2019-Oct
    Posts
    4
    I have a same issue after upgrade kali 2019.3.
    i just can access on recovery mode.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2019-Oct
    Posts
    1
    I have the same problem (i have kali on virtualbox ) , I tried to reinstall it and make updates and I get the same problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2015-Jul
    Posts
    6
    I second that.. Been spending a good amount of time trying to debug this morning. when it hits the black screen with the mouse, I can't even switch tty. I have tried loading the previous kernel, same effect. I have been able to get into the recovery partition. but not finding any errors in log files that shed much light. I'm leaning toward gnome-shell or gdm3 as the issue, but have made little progress, still poking around though..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2015-Jul
    Posts
    6
    I'll also add, I don't even see a login screen. It gets to this state quickly after drive decryption/grub.

  6. #6
    Same issue here, happened after apt upgrade which installed a new version of gdm, i even tried it on a fresh installation and had the same issue

  7. #7
    I have the exact same issue, i upgraded today, which installed a new version of gdm, and it doesn't work anymore, i actually tried it on a fresh installation and the same issue happened.

  8. #8
    I'm having the same problem with my Kali installation, however I have no cursor showing nor am I able to blind enter the username and password. I can access the GRUB start menu, change to recovery modes, but the logs (journalctl -xb) from recovery don't show any errors or warnings.

    Before I dive into a repair, any one have a quick solution or corrective action? TIA

    In a related incident, a few weeks ago I experienced a similar issue after an update, however I was able to blind enter the username and password and successfully log in to the OS. After login the video was skewed and unusable until I restarted the OS, and worked perfectly thereafter.

  9. #9
    Adding to my previous note, I can switch to the cli login screen (<ctrl>-<alt>-<F2>) but there is only a small flashing cursor in the upper left-hand corner that doesn't respond to any input. Switching back to the gui login shows the mouse cursor but no login input boxes and I still can't blind logon.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    2015-Jul
    Posts
    6
    got it working. you will need to downgrade "gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0" to an older version. Until the fix for this gets pushed out with an updated gnome-shell package. http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/pool....1-2_amd64.deb. You can just run apt install {your downloaded file name}.deb on that file to initiate a downgrade.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    2019-Oct
    Posts
    4
    I have a same issue after upgrade Kali Linux 2019.3. I also can't change tty to login in console.
    I just only can run console in recovery mode.
    And bellow is file log fournalctl.log.
    https://pastebin.com/0uYLvC3k

  12. #12
    Join Date
    2015-Jul
    Posts
    6
    got it working. you will need to downgrade "gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0" to an older version. Until the fix for this gets pushed out with an updated gnome-shell package. http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/pool....1-2_amd64.deb. You can just run apt install {your downloaded file name}.deb on that file to initiate a downgrade.

  13. #13
    Hi, I also had this problem after the upgrade, after several tests I installed KDE and now i can log in with KDE. I think the problem is related to Gnome or something similar.
    PS: I use kali on the virtualbox.

  14. #14
    Issues with GDM3.

    What you need to do is boot in recovery mode. Then from the recovery mode do the following command:

    init 3

    That should allow you to boot into console.

    From there you can login as normal. And perform the following command.

    sudo dpkg-reconfigure gdm3.

    Provided you have some other desktop display manager, you can select lightdm as a temporary fix.

    Actually there isn't any reason to use GDM3. It does not like to play with other display managers. Stick with lightdm it is faster (smaller footprint) than GDM3.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    2014-Sep
    Posts
    6
    Same problem here, on 2 Installations.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Posts
    2
    Same issue new install of 2019.3 large ISO -> apt update; apt dist-upgrade -> Black Screen with mousepointer

  17. #17
    Join Date
    2014-Sep
    Posts
    6
    This fixed the problem for me: (downgrading gnome-shell)


    sudo apt install gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0=3.30.2.1-2

    sudo apt-mark hold gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0

  18. #18
    Join Date
    2019-Oct
    Posts
    1
    Same problem; I see an issue has been created in the bugtracker so I guess there are more of us.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    2019-Oct
    Posts
    1
    Thanks! The downgrade worked for me. I guess no upgrading until I see a fix.

    ...I rather wish I'd seen this before I reinstalled. Oh well, more system tinkering and reinstalling! It's educational, right?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    2019-Oct
    Posts
    2
    I installed the kde iso instead, found I quite like it and will stick with it for awhile.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    2019-Oct
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Bagel View Post
    got it working. you will need to downgrade "gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0" to an older version. Until the fix for this gets pushed out with an updated gnome-shell package. http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/pool....1-2_amd64.deb. You can just run apt install {your downloaded file name}.deb on that file to initiate a downgrade.
    Quote Originally Posted by chick0n View Post
    This fixed the problem for me: (downgrading gnome-shell)


    sudo apt install gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0=3.30.2.1-2

    sudo apt-mark hold gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0
    Thanks guy.
    install gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0=3.30.2.1-2 really fixed this issue for me.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    2013-Oct
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by chick0n View Post
    This fixed the problem for me: (downgrading gnome-shell)


    sudo apt install gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0=3.30.2.1-2

    sudo apt-mark hold gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0

    This worked for me, thanks.

  23. #23

    Downgrading gnome-shell and setting it to hold worked for me. Thnx!

    Quote Originally Posted by chick0n View Post
    This fixed the problem for me: (downgrading gnome-shell)


    sudo apt install gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0=3.30.2.1-2

    sudo apt-mark hold gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0
    Downgrading gnome-shell and setting it to hold worked for me. Thnx!

  24. #24
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by boost View Post
    This worked for me, thanks.
    And for me too

  25. #25
    Join Date
    2019-Oct
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by chick0n View Post
    This fixed the problem for me: (downgrading gnome-shell)


    sudo apt install gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0=3.30.2.1-2

    sudo apt-mark hold gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0
    why i get
    E: version 3.30.2.1-2 was not found ???

    i see on https://packages.debian.org/sid/gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0

  26. #26
    Join Date
    2019-Oct
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by chick0n View Post
    This fixed the problem for me: (downgrading gnome-shell)


    sudo apt install gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0=3.30.2.1-2

    sudo apt-mark hold gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0
    ok thanks work like a charm
    but i only try
    sudo apt install gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0

    because i get version not found , just update to 3.30..0-4

  27. #27
    hello how can i do downgrade ?? can you help me out .. ? I am aslo stucked with these same problem am using 2017
    whether its is for kali l inux 2017 or kali linux 2019 ...

  28. #28
    Quote Originally Posted by chick0n View Post
    This fixed the problem for me: (downgrading gnome-shell)


    sudo apt install gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0=3.30.2.1-2

    sudo apt-mark hold gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0



    How can i perform downgrade am even unable to access terminal or console..
    am stucked at boot screen ....? after gnome has started am get black screen with cursor over

  29. #29
    Join Date
    2019-Dec
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by chick0n View Post
    This fixed the problem for me: (downgrading gnome-shell)


    sudo apt install gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0=3.30.2.1-2

    sudo apt-mark hold gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0
    Issue is not getting resolved by this also..
    i guess the lightdm service is starting..
    i want to start the gnome gui...how can i do it? i downgraded also

  30. #30
    Join Date
    2019-Dec
    Posts
    4
    The downgrade is also not working for me...idk why....help me pls

  31. #31
    Join Date
    2020-May
    Posts
    1
    While upgrading Kali Linux my Kali Linux automatically started showing a black screen and a loading underscore at the top left of the screen what should I do

  32. #32
    Join Date
    2020-May
    Posts
    1

    this is how I fixed it:

    Quote Originally Posted by dragoon View Post
    While upgrading Kali Linux my Kali Linux automatically started showing a black screen and a loading underscore at the top left of the screen what should I do
    Hey, found an article about this that might help you http://www.linuxandubuntu.com/home/k...screen-on-boot, follow those steps, and after you get into the GUI of Kali Linux, go over to your terminal and do:
    sudo su
    nano /etc/default/grub
    add "<yourvideodriverhere>.modeset=0" or "nomodeset" (if you don't know your video drivers) and type it between "quiet" and "splash"
    now do "Ctrl + O" to save it, "Enter" and then "Ctrl + X" to exit the nano text editor.
    after that just type in "update-grub" in terminal

    I fixed my problem with this solution, also the problem was with the video drivers, I have intel drivers so I typed in "intel915.modeset=0", after that everything worked perfectly.

  33. #33
    Join Date
    2020-May
    Posts
    1
    I had had the same problem and I solved it by the following steps and it worked


    While at the login screen press

    CTRL + ALT + F1
    Or
    CTRL + ALT + F2 if you are on a Virtual Machine

    You should now see a shell.

    Login with your credentials.

    Then just run the following commands in this order:

    1. dpkg --configure -a
    2. sudo apt-get update
    3. sudo apt-get upgrade
    4. sudo reboot
    U can skip the update and upgrade

Similar Threads

  1. Mouse pointer messed up after update
    By kvadrat in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2016-05-12, 13:52
  2. mouse pointer disappers on hovering
    By AbhimanyuAryan in forum General Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-07-14, 20:00

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •