Thread: Grub Repair [PRECAUTIONS] - Unknown Version of Kali, All FileSystems not Found, and Complete Noob

Grub Repair [PRECAUTIONS] - Unknown Version of Kali, All FileSystems not Found, and Complete Noob

Kali version - UNKNOWN - BOOTED FROM USB IN 2015 ON FRIENDS SUGGESTION (QUESTION AND CONTEXT BELOW)Kali installation - HD
    Dell PC Boot Mode - Legacy
    I just wanted to make sure that I could assure myself the greatest likelihood of success given that there are a few unknowns in my situation and that I am very new to Linux.
    Back in 2015, at the suggestion of a friend I installed Windows 7 using Grub over Kali but am not sure what version of Kali I'd originally used. I stopped using the machine for over 3 years but started to use the Windows partition on the HD again and saved some essential files to it. After accidentally leaving my computer on during a storm, I came back to it to see that it had entered into Grub Rescue
    Code:
    Error: Unknown FileSystem
    grub rescue>
    I Googled how to fix this and based on these posts (1. https://forums.kali.org/showthread.p...ue-Grub-rescue; 2. https://askubuntu.com/questions/2322...ub-rescue-mode) ended up doing the following along with other similar strategies which failed:
    20191119_200714.jpg
    Seeing that this method failed I got to several threads displaying different usages of the Mount Command after one uses a Kali Live USB BUT BEFORE I TOUCH THESE METHODS I WANTED TO ASK THESE QUESTIONS especially because in the past I screwed up a system using the "Mount"/"Umount" commands.
    - When I make the Kali Live USB, can I use any version of Kali to restore the system reliably soo I can get into the Windows Partition or do I need to know the version to prevent problems