Thread: USB Wireless Adapter not showing in iwconfig

USB Wireless Adapter not showing in iwconfig

Hey all,

I'm brand new to using Kali. I bought a Linsys AC1200 USB wireless adapter. I have installed the rtl8812au drivers. But for some reason it WILL NOT show up in iwconfig. It shows up on the devices list when i use 'lsusb' command.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Try
    iw dev see if its there.
    Try
    apt install linux-headers-$(uname -r)
    If the second thing doesn't fix it try
    apt install --reinstall linux-headers-$(unname -r) build-essential git
    Then
    Go here
    https://github.com/abperiasamy/rtl8812AU_8821AU_linux
    Open a terminal type cd Downloads then on the git page click on download or clone it does a drop down theres going to be an address in the drop down click the little pic of a clipboard to the right of the address.
    Back to your terminal
    Type
    git clone paste the address hit enter.
    Go to file explorer on your desktop go to downloads theres going to be a download with a god awful long name, right click it and name it something small 1 or a charcter small make life easy.
    Back to the downloads terminal you used to clone the driver. If you closed it open another terminal
    type cd Downloads/whatever you named it. The directory is always capitalized Downloads, Documents whatever. The file you cd into is always the files name exactly. That's the reason for the name change.
    If you left it open just type.
    cd whatever you named it.
    Type
    make
    make install
    If the adaptor ever disappears just do that again.
    If you get a build essentials error type
    apt install build-essential
    Alternatively you can just type
    get clone the link I pasted and hit enter that should work. You said you where new so I just explained the whole process.
    I did Google your dongel theres a place or two that says incompatable so you might have a problem there.