Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: How to take screenshot?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2019-Dec
    Posts
    15

    How to take screenshot?

    No one usual way works. How it works in Kali?

  2. #2
    apt install imagemagick && import -window root screenshot.png

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2019-Dec
    Posts
    15
    imagemagick does not display correctly on 4K resolution

  4. #4
    Are you saying that the following command won't take a screenshot in 4k?
    import -window root screenshot.png

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2019-Dec
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasalom View Post
    Are you saying that the following command won't take a screenshot in 4k?
    import -window root screenshot.png
    They will. But I need not full screenshot. I need rectangular area of screen and screenshot of active window

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by mark-v View Post
    They will. But I need not full screenshot. I need rectangular area of screen and screenshot of active window
    Then use this command :

    import screenshot.png

    Use your mouse to click the window you wish to capture.


    Or, edit the full screenshot in GIMP to select the exact area you want.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2019-Dec
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasalom View Post
    Then use this command :
    import screenshot.png
    Where screenshot saved after this command? There are no files in the folder Images
    Last edited by mark-v; 2020-01-04 at 00:49.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2020-Jan
    Posts
    4
    When you press Cntrl and PrtSc it is a copy command that is held in the buffer. All you do is paste it applications like Libreoffice or Gimp.
    #Gimp is the best you just Open Gimp then go to edit then paste.

    Then you can use rectangle and select the portion you need. Click Cntrl X then make a new image with Cntrl shift V then export as to my new super duper.png

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2019-Dec
    Posts
    15
    Still can't take screenshot

  10. #10
    Join Date
    2015-Nov
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    313
    If you are using the new Kali default DE then you can follow this guide:

    https://www.kali.org/docs/general-us...creen-captures

    Hope that helps

  11. #11
    Join Date
    2019-Dec
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by re4son View Post
    If you are using the new Kali default DE then you can follow this guide:

    https://www.kali.org/docs/general-us...creen-captures

    Hope that helps
    Seems there is no Kali default DE in my system because no one of the command from the link doesn't work. How to set up Kali default DE?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    2019-Dec
    Posts
    15
    So nobody can help?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    2015-Nov
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    313
    Would you mind posting a screenshot of your desktop?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    2015-Nov
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    313
    Quote Originally Posted by re4son View Post
    Would you mind posting a screenshot of your desktop?
    as in taking a picture with your smartphone

Similar Threads

  1. Screenshot bugs | Keyboard shortcuts not working.
    By K@!R0U$3ki in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2017-02-15, 18:16
  2. Insert terminal screenshot into forums
    By airserpent in forum General Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-03-27, 14:18
  3. I got the method to fix the screenshot error in kalilinux
    By valasudurai in forum General Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-04-24, 12:13

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •