Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Problem with installation of 2020.2 on an old laptop --> boot on grub rescue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2018-May
    Posts
    19

    Problem with installation of 2020.2 on an old laptop --> boot on grub rescue

    Hi,

    Made differents install of Kali since several years on differents platforms and supports without problems...but had a problem this time

    A friend gave me an old laptop (2009 manufacture date), so the idea was to install Kali, to give it a second life.

    Made a bootable usb using win32diskimager, with kali-linux-2020.2-installer-i386.iso, fine.

    Got a little problem during the install ("starting up the partitioner" step, stuck at 45%)...tried several times, using differents usb keys --> problem resolved changing an option in bios:

    IMG_20200519_214917.jpg

    Re-tried installation, was successful after the change, reboots and then, this:

    IMG_20200523_133856.jpg

    Didin't had this problem on the differents install i've made before.

    So, itried searching on this forum and someone gave a solution through this link: https://askubuntu.com/questions/2322...ub-rescue-mode
    But didin't works, as when i do ls, only (hd0) appeared (as shown on previous pic) and "insmod normal" gave me an error, whan i tried with only hd0 (error: unknown filesystem).

    Tried also to boot in rescue mode with my kali usb key, to update-grub and to grub-install /dev/sda, but nothing changed.

    The laptop is a Samsung NP-NC10, the HDD is an ATA Samsung 160go, HM160HI-(S1) (fully verified using hdd regenerator, no corrupted sectors on it) and the kali install is 2020.2 x86 (https://cdimage.kali.org/kali-2020.2...aller-i386.iso), using encryption.

    Thanks !

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2018-May
    Posts
    19
    tried yesterday to install via PXE, same thing on reboot, error disk and boot rescue, so sad...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2018-May
    Posts
    19
    upping, hopping someone, somewhere, will see this

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2016-Dec
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    322
    Redownload iso file and try again. Xfce id try since that laptop is more than 10 years old.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2018-May
    Posts
    19
    Thanks for your answer, i was in real despair you are the first to post
    I've checked the iso using the sha256 sum, everything is correct, it is not corrupted.
    But i don't understand well what you're saying about Xfce, should i use another desktop environment ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2016-Dec
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    322
    Here the download page has change since i visited last.
    https://www.kali.org/docs/general-use/xfce-faq/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2018-May
    Posts
    19
    Thanks for the link, will try an advanced install with GNOME instead of Xfce, hope it will work

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2018-May
    Posts
    19
    Installed it with GNOME, same thing as before on restart...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2020-Jul
    Posts
    1
    hello I also had the same problem, but after I installed the x64 version were solved my @ samsung rv411

  10. #10
    Join Date
    2016-Dec
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    322
    Pls try the 32-bit version

  11. #11
    Join Date
    2018-May
    Posts
    19
    Thanks, but i use 32 bit s version, as I said in my 1st message

  12. #12
    Join Date
    2020-Jul
    Posts
    3
    are you connected to the internet via ethernet at install? maybe skip grub and try rEFInd? change your bootloader. I always had issues with grub. If you want to use grub, try what is comparable for you (locations) with:
    set root=(hd0,msdos6)
    set prefix=(hd0,msdos6)/boot/grub
    insmod normal
    normal
    this would be typed at location of your second screenshot

  13. #13
    Join Date
    2018-May
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by r3fr3sh View Post
    are you connected to the internet via ethernet at install? maybe skip grub and try rEFInd? change your bootloader. I always had issues with grub. If you want to use grub, try what is comparable for you (locations) with:
    set root=(hd0,msdos6)
    set prefix=(hd0,msdos6)/boot/grub
    insmod normal
    normal
    this would be typed at location of your second screenshot
    yes, ethernet at install
    will try to search about rEFInd, didn't use it, my differents install always worked using grub since several years...but the laptop is in BIOS, not EFI (manufacture date 2009)
    thanks r3fr3sh, I've try it but when I type "insmod normal", it said "error: no such partition"

  14. #14
    Join Date
    2018-May
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by trooper View Post
    hello I also had the same problem, but after I installed the x64 version were solved my @ samsung rv411
    will try this this afternoon, and i'll tell ya

    edit: and...don't work, as it is a i686 cpu, so can't install a x64 version on it

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2020-05-23, 13:48
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2017-05-22, 17:36
  3. Kali froze... wont boot, grub rescue, HELP!?
    By Jayden_Blade in forum General Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2015-02-25, 21:06
  4. grub rescue> problem
    By pratham in forum Installing Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-04-18, 05:28

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •