Thread: Netgear A7000 Wifi Driver - How To Install?

Netgear A7000 Wifi Driver - How To Install?

I am somewhat new to Linux but have been able to get around using UBUNTU. I decided to more on to Kali. I am trying to use my wireless usb adapter Netgear A7000. I am trying to install the driver. I believe the following commands will get me there:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install git dkms
    git clone https://github.com/zebulon2/rtl8814au.git
    sudo dkms add ./rtl8814au
    sudo dkms build -m rtl8814au -v 4.3.21
    sudo dkms install -m rtl8814au -v 4.3.21

The problem is when I enter the second line into the terminal window, I get the following error:
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    E: Unable to locate package dkms

Any ideas why I cannot locate the package dkms?

Thanks for any help.

Make sure you added the Kali repositories to your Software and Updates list...

In terminal do
    sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
    after do a sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

and although that command worked fine for me, I'm not to sure why it didn't for you. Could be because you're running an older version distro of Kali, sudo apt-get dist-upgrade should upgrade that for you.

Not that this should make a difference but you can try to install dkms exclusively:

sudo apt-get install dkms

I didn't have your issue but it could be because of the above mentioned issues. But the package definitely exists...
    Doing an "apt search dkms" shows

With all that said, despite all of these commands executing with success for me, my NETGEAR A7000 is still not detected. However it did install drivers for my Realtek Integrated PCIE Wireless NIC, so at least there's that.

If i successfully manage to install the drivers I'll reply to this thread again, however if you beat me to it please let me know how you did it