Hi all , newbie here first post and Tx for the forum.

Background : Running vbox 6 on MacBook and originally added kali 2019.2 amd 64 about may 2019,,,, Everything was well, I am using the machine for learning some low level coding so basically only added tmux and ZSH , ohmyzsh in all that time and updated my GCC for assembler and C and python, so nothing much really as we know the simple rule of if it ain?t broken Don?t fix it always works well 😉

So anyway did an apt Upgraded a few days ago and kaboom there goes all my learning time in trying to fix this?

I am writing this more as a story then a serious of commands and hope that?s not too bad.

Grub showed linux 5.6.0-kali2-amd64. However during this upgrades, DPKG seems to have corrupted with gnome , eventually got around that & managed to apt update -f gnome, everything was working fine? then a day or two later trying Tweaks it was not working and had python3 & farraday err msgs in Apt update so apt was basically broken as apperntly it relies on pycompile etc. tried lots of things eventually got python3 & faraday removed and reinstalled with apt remove and apt reinstall, everything was fine , but then did another gnome reinstall just to make sure and all of the sudden my root password will not work anymore.(ps! this process never asked me to set a user at all as I understand the new kali does not use root toor anymore.)

Tried this grub e boot sequence steps here ( https://linuxconfig.org/how-to-reset...-root-password) changing the linux line from ro to rw and adding the init=bin/bash as described f10 ??and various variations of reboot/poweoff etc?.., it basically says password updated successfully at root@(none) prompt, even mount shows it?s writeable everything, but when I go in again it will not recognize that root password. The only diff I see is when entering the grub mode and the root@(none) prompt appears and I want to enter passwd , it displays this, which I dunno how significant it might be :