Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Dual Booting Kali Linux with Windows 7

  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    40

    Dual Booting Kali Linux with Windows 7

    Dual booting setups should always be preformed carefully, after you have preformed a full backup of all your important data. If you are unfamiliar with the instructions on Installing Kali Linux to hard disk, you should read that first to understand the general outline of the installation process. In this article we will we installing Kali Linux alongside an installation of Windows 7 which is currently taking up 100% of the disk space.

    To read the full document, check our Dual booting Kali Linux with Windows article.

    If you have any issues with this procedure, please post them in this thread.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1
    Hello,

    I have two hard drive, one filled with windows 7, and one that I myself buy vien is blank is that Kali can I install it? There is no problem in aurra Grub or something else? Advice to give me? What os install first? Thank you for reading.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by muts View Post

    If you have any issues with this procedure, please post them in this thread.

    First I saved sensitive data in windows on an external drive. Then rebooted, poped in the iso-dvd and booted it as live.

    Well inside of Kali I used gparted to resized my hdd as instucted. Saved and rebooted again.

    This time I chose the graphical installation instead of live. Followed the instuctions as in the "Installation to Harddrive" with exception when it came to choosing partion as explained in "Dual booting with Windows".

    The installation went fine uptil "use network mirrors" (not sure if the title is correct of that part of the installation). Here it wouldn't accept any of my choices on what mirror to use. Just returned to me as an error. So I just tried them all specific for my country and region. But still nothing. Then it hit me, maybe my wireless card was deactivated during this step. (still not sure?) Anyhow, in with the network cable and I rechose my firsthand mirror. And all continued as nothing had happend.

    Later when it came to install grub. The installation prompted me and asked if any or all of my existing installed OS was present above: "Windows(vista loader), Windows(vista loader), and Windows(vista loader)". I think I didn't read carefully enough on this part and thought these name are surely correct. Everything else had been pretty much preset in the installation. Then the installation was complete and I was prompted to reboot. So I did.

    Well booted up in grub these options were available to me: (Please note that I only have one Windows 7 installation)

    *kali
    *kali recovery
    *windows (vista loader)
    *windows (vista loader)
    *windows (vista loader)

    Ok, let's bring up windows I said to myself. I chose to top windows loader and : BLUE SCREEN. Small freakout and a automated reboot. I chose the second one and BS. Bigger freakout! Tried the third one and was presented with recovery. Hugely relieved. I chose the fix startup and 15 minutes later windows booted perfectly from the first loader option. Then rebooted and logged into kali, perfect boot.

    So to sum up I now have three windows loaders: one for normal boot, second=beats me and third=recovery. I tried to change the name of the loaders in grub.cfg beacuse the it doesn't seemed to have a menu.lst but after reboot the change wouldn't be present. Still reading into how to fix the names and what the second windows loader is? But this was my story on troubles installing Kali. Hope it helps someone, and sorry it became longer then originally planned.

    -Try screaming now and again, it will make people leave you alone. Best regards Jake

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by jakesumer View Post
    ...The installation went fine uptil "use network(edit:/software?) mirrors". Here it wouldn't accept any of my choices on what mirror to use. Just returned to me as an error. So I just tried them all, specific for my country and region. But still nothing. Then it hit me, maybe my wireless card was deactivated during this step?

    (and)

    ...So to sum up I now have three windows loaders: one for normal boot, second=beats me and third=recovery. I tried to change the name of the loaders in grub.cfg beacuse the it doesn't seemed to have a menu.lst but after reboot the change wouldn't be present.
    Anybody know if wireless is unactive during mirror setting stage? And Any suggestions on how to fix grub. Rename the options. Is the problem so simple as there is a backup of grub-cfg that I need to remove after editing the file. Also I updated grub after editing the cfg.

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Seal Beach, California
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by jakesumer View Post
    Anybody know if wireless is unactive during mirror setting stage? And Any suggestions on how to fix grub. Rename the options. Is the problem so simple as there is a backup of grub-cfg that I need to remove after editing the file. Also I updated grub after editing the cfg.

    Thanks
    Jake, to my knowledge 99% of operating systems INCLUDING Win 7, don't support wireless networking when installing the OS (Win 7 might but it's been awhile so I cannot confirm), however; I do know it's great practice to have WAN disabled during OS install as it's not 100% reliable. It's hardwire or bust on that normally...You are correct in your understanding of why you couldn't reach the mirrors first go-around, it was because you weren't on the network.

    As for the deal with your Grub loader....Each one of those "Loaders" you have, means there is some kind of MBR there for either an Operating System or One that was there, MBR's rarely get deleted. Grub detected them and took note of them, so instead of setting you up with a dual boot system, it kind of gave you the ability to have a quadruple boot. There is great commercial software that lets you fix and clean that **** up. I use it at my work, it's called "EasyBCD" URL: http://neosmart.net/EasyBCD/ It literally let's you arrange MBR's for all OS's like they were smarties to be eaten. You can clean up the MBR's, rename them, move them to different HD's etc... That's just what I use personally, take it with a grain of salt.

    Funny Fact: Win 7 by default installs the MBR to the first "Hard Drive" listed in your BIOS and installs the Operating System wherever you told it too. I recently had to use Easy BCD to move my MBR to my SSD where my Win 7 OS was, because during Kali installation Grub pointed out to me that it was on my Sata III 500 GB Storage HD. Glad, I didn't decide to reformat that drive during the past year I've had my PC. Silly M$.
    Last edited by g0tmi1k; 09-15-2013 at 08:36 AM. Reason: Remove foul language
    Pain heals. Chicks dig scars. Glory lasts forever. ~ Shane Falco

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1
    install went fine and now i'm booting the os for the first time and its asking me for a username and password but whenever I type anything in it says that authentication failed I don't remember being asked to give login credentials during the install, have I done something wrong?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    5
    I would like to ask, if there is any reccomended way how to remove old OS (backtrack) from dual boot?

    I have been searching on internet, but I found several guides with different ways how to do it, and im not sure which one should i use.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6
    Thank you Mistwraith!

    I'll try this and get back to you on the grub-fix and EasyBCD.

    I have not had the time to experiment within Kali with cleaning and customization/personalizing (excuse my spelling) these last couple of weeks. But now I have an excuse to get around to it.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    43
    About the wireless card during the installation... My inbuild wireless card from the pc doesn't work during installation. However my alfa awus036H works perfectly during installaton

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    3
    Question:
    I have an hp Pavilion dv7 running Win 7. Trying to install Kali as a dual boot following the instructions given, free up 30GB of space on the HD for install, but when I go through the process to use the "largest continuous free space", it chooses my USB stick from the Live Install. When I manually select the space I want to use, Kali says it's |unusable". I have 4 "Partitions" in total. Recovery, Win 7, HP_TOOLS, and "SYSTEM". Is it possible it's saying the 30GB of unallocated space is unusable because of the amount of partitions? Is there a way around this without trashing the recovery software (recovery and HP_TOOLS are both part of the "Recovery software")?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •