Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Results 71 to 80 of 80

Thread: Dual Booting Kali Linux with Windows 7

  1. #71
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    California
    Posts
    112
    Here refer this
    this may solve your problem
    https://forums.kali.org/showthread.p...all-Kali-Linux
    ------------------Contact: Skype : Gh0sT.sh ( 0 -->Zero )-------------------
    |
    /vvvvvvvvvvvv \-------------------------------------------------------------------------,,
    |^^^^^^^^ /===================================--""
    ################################################
    ----------The quieter you become,The more you will able to hear-----------
    ################################################

  2. #72
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1
    Hi folks,

    I have a problem, I have Win 7 installed on a SSD 128 GB and I have an HDD runing for my programs.
    Now I wanted to install Kali on a seperate SSD also 128 GB.
    To do so i unpluged the 2 Win 7 Harddrives so the Kali SSD and the bootloader has nothing to do with them I just one seperate Kali-SSD everything went fine so far, BUT.
    After I finished the installation I could run Kali without a Problem but as soon as I pluged the other 2 drives back on I just can start Win when I try to switch the boot SSD to Kali I get the error

    "can't access tty; job control turned off "

    Maybe that helps

    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
    # device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
    # that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    # / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
    UUID=8de5a054-8971-4d59-999d-3859392175e3 / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
    # swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
    UUID=4ebd4842-e3b5-4277-b8a5-e60a06a4810c none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/sr0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0


    I dont know how to fix the problem.
    While booting I donīt want to be asked wich operating system should be started it should just run Win 7 all the time unless I manuali interupt the boot and switch to Kali.

    And everything of the obove would work I just have the problem that Kali dont find the source or somthing.
    Is there any way to change sda1 to sda5 or somthing?

    When I unplug the Win Drives I can start Kali without any Problems again.

    And if you have a solution please go in detail, Iīm totaly new to Kali.


    All other Forums couldnīt help me, I hope you can.
    Thank you very much.

  3. #73
    Hey guys please help me out as soon s possible because I am in a big trouble now.
    Actually while installing Kali Linux on my hard disk I gave the location for grub boot loader in sda partition now my pc is not booting into windows it displays that no boot device found what to do guys. :........-(

  4. #74
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    /home/duxim
    Posts
    399
    @Lomash Dubey
    use any tools for boot repair like hiren's boot, boot repair cd...
    Repetitio est mater studiorum

  5. #75
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    2

    Problem after update package

    I have this problem in startup after grub Select

    I have 1 ssd (Windows)

    1 hdd (STORAGE Windows ad partition for kali)

    Can i fix?



  6. #76
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    12

    Question

    Hi there
    I tried dual booting Kali and win 10 and partitioned some space for Kali in won 10

    But when I boot to Kali installation rather then showing me unlocated partition of 107 GB
    it's shows me combination of my D and E drive which is of 827 GB I tried to partition it but
    I corrupted my window any help I installed Windows again

    So PLZ tell me what i do ?

  7. #77
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    /dev/sda
    Posts
    414
    Quote Originally Posted by Royal.Ninja View Post
    Hi there
    I tried dual booting Kali and win 10 and partitioned some space for Kali in won 10

    But when I boot to Kali installation rather then showing me unlocated partition of 107 GB
    it's shows me combination of my D and E drive which is of 827 GB I tried to partition it but
    I corrupted my window any help I installed Windows again

    So PLZ tell me what i do ?
    In a partitioning method while installation, installer asks you which method do you want to choose:
    Guided-use entire disk
    Guided-use entire disk and choose LVM
    Guided-use entire disk and set up encrypted LVM
    Manual

    which one are you choosing?

  8. #78
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1

    Problem with wireless card in Windows and Audio Volume in Kali.

    I've installed a dual boot Kali 2016.2 successfully along side windows 7. I worked in both and they were fine (Except the 2nd issue.). Until I put a update in Kali. I've the below issues.

    1. After the update, I'm not getting my wireless card to work in Windows. My windows 7 detects my wireless device in device manager. I've reinstalled, disabled/enabled the wireless device, but of no use. "ipconfig" shows that media disconnected. I've added NETDOWN='no' in "/etc/default/halt", but of no effect.

    2. The maximum volume in Kali is much lower than that of windows (Both the inbuilt speaker and with an earphone). So to watch a properly ripped video, I have to login to windows, watch it and switch back to kali.

    One more thing, I currently have the default graphics driver nouveau. Since I've dual graphics, I want to try the bumblebee. Is there anything I should know or be careful of, before proceeding to that? As I've read at many places, that after installing the nVidia drivers, they were not able to login to their Linux.

    System Details:
    Lenovo Z50-70
    Core i5, 12 GB RAM, 2GB nVidia 820M along with Intel HD graphics.

    Here's the output of "lspci"

    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Haswell-ULT DRAM Controller (rev 0b)
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0b)
    00:03.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Haswell-ULT HD Audio Controller (rev 0b)
    00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series USB xHCI HC (rev 04)
    00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series HECI #0 (rev 04)
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 8 Series HD Audio Controller (rev 04)
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series PCI Express Root Port 3 (rev e4)
    00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series PCI Express Root Port 4 (rev e4)
    00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series PCI Express Root Port 5 (rev e4)
    00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series USB EHCI #1 (rev 04)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series LPC Controller (rev 04)
    00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series SATA Controller 1 [AHCI mode] (rev 04)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 8 Series SMBus Controller (rev 04)
    01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 10)
    02:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8723BE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter
    03:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF117M [GeForce 610M/710M/810M/820M / GT 620M/625M/630M/720M] (rev a1)

  9. #79
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    1
    please clue me just finished installing linux on my laptop's time 2 win 10 and time booting linux, the installation went smoothly until the finish. and when I enter the root user name and password paswornya according to which I made when installing. but do not want to get into the linux desktop time. that there is only silver appearance but did not break in time desktop linux .. please guide. thank you

  10. #80
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by RedForman View Post
    http://http.kali.org/README.mirrorlist
    Just put the full mirror name in the first box at the top, and /kali/ in the box at the bottom.
    Here's one from that link you supplied:
    http://ftp.belnet.be/kali/kali/README (be, prio 200)

    So which part of that link above is the "mirror name"?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •