Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How to switch to amd gpu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2022-Jun
    Posts
    2

    How to switch to amd gpu

    I have kali linux 2022.2, KDE Plasma. I got 2 gpus: intel integrated and amd radeon 520. Kali sees the second one, cause if i run this command:

    sudo lshw -c video

    i get

    *-display
    description: VGA compatible controller
    product: UHD Graphics 620
    vendor: Intel Corporation
    physical id: 2
    bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
    logical name: /dev/fb0
    version: 07
    width: 64 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: pciexpress msi pm vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom fb
    configuration: depth=32 driver=i915 latency=0 resolution=1920,1080
    resources: irq:128 memory:d1000000-d1ffffff memory:b0000000-bfffffff ioport:f000(size=64) memory:c0000-
    dffff
    *-display
    description: Display controller
    product: Jet PRO [Radeon R5 M230 / R7 M260DX / Radeon 520 Mobile]
    vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]
    physical id: 0
    bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
    version: c3
    width: 64 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: pm pciexpress msi bus_master cap_list rom
    configuration: driver=radeon latency=0
    resources: irq:129 memory:c0000000-cfffffff memory:d0000000-d003ffff ioport:e000(size=256) memory:d0040
    000-d005ffff

    but it runs only intel graphics, cuz in settings, in about this system i see:

    Graphics Processor: Mesa Intel UHD Graphcis 620

    i have found something on the internet, but got no idea how to do that and not sure that it will work, cuz it was on older versions
    pls help me

    HEY, MODERATOR, APPROVE THIS
    Last edited by Far; 2022-06-29 at 15:36. Reason: moderators don't approve my post

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2022-Jun
    Posts
    2
    Can anybody finally reply to this, or not?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2018-Jun
    Posts
    31
    Your post has been approved for a while. I unfortunately can't be much help as I don't have AMD, so it is up to anyone who might see your post and know how to help.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2021-May
    Posts
    279
    I've only had these issues when running Kali on my Macbook Pros because like you, they have dual Graphics set up, so the fix I would assume would be the same..

    edit /etc/default/grub and change the following line from
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="intel_iommu=off"
    Then save and run
    update-grub

Similar Threads

  1. Switch Desktop Environments
    By eng.muhammed in forum Installing Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2021-05-05, 12:35

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •