Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Kali login keyboard configuration

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2021-May
    Posts
    14

    Kali login keyboard configuration

    I have a problem using Kali with Raspberry.
    I run the keyboard setup with
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure keyboard-configuration
    and then
    setxkbmap language
    and so far everything ok, the keyboard is configured and also the language.
    The problem is that this configuration is reset every time you exit the operating system, so at the next start, in the login form to access kali the keys do not correspond to the symbols I want to type and that make up the user and password, so I had to search the correspondence on the keyboard and every time I have to consult these notes to enter the correct user and password and enter the kali.
    How can I change the configuration to avoid this problem when accessing kali?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2021-May
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    772
    Isn't the Kali on raspberry a 'live' image (similar to an ISO image) and if so changes won't stick..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2021-May
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred Sheehan View Post
    Isn't the Kali on raspberry a 'live' image (similar to an ISO image) and if so changes won't stick..
    I was able to permanently set the keyboard from here:
    sudo nano / etc / default / keyboard
    Now there is another problem, I have to change the default user name which is kali, I type
    usermod -l newusername kali
    says there is an active process, so I type
    kill -9 active process number && usermod -l kali
    after sending, the computer logs out and the login form reappears so everything seems ok, now I should log in with the new username, but it isn't, there are still the old credentials where is the problem?
    I also encounter the same problem with changing the password of the root user, typing
    sudo on passwd
    I enter pw, I repeat the pw, I am told that it has been updated, I reboot, then I try a sudo apt-get update and I am immediately root, with no root password required, the changes are not saved, how do I fix?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2021-May
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    772
    create a new user, use the -m switch to create a home directory

    sudo useradd -m new_username
    sudo passwd new_username

    you'll be asked for a new password twice..
    then add the new user to sudoers

    sudo usermod -a -G sudo new_username

    log out and back in with new username/password
    remove default account

    sudo userdel –r old-username

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2021-May
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred Sheehan View Post
    create a new user, use the -m switch to create a home directory

    sudo useradd -m new_username
    sudo passwd new_username

    you'll be asked for a new password twice..
    then add the new user to sudoers

    sudo usermod -a -G sudo new_username

    log out and back in with new username/password
    remove default account

    sudo userdel –r old-username

    ok thanks, the commands I give them as root?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2021-May
    Posts
    14
    I tried, everything works ok, thanks.
    Only one thing, when I do userdel, it says that the user kali (default user) was not found, but I only created the new user so the default one should still be there, what should I do?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2021-May
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    772
    Then maybe its already not there;
    cat etc/passwd

    will list any users

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2021-May
    Posts
    14
    Hi, he tells me:
    no such file or directory
    I don't understand, shouldn't it find at least the current user?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2021-May
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    772
    sorry, my bad

    cat /etc/passwd

  10. #10
    Join Date
    2021-May
    Posts
    14
    Ok thanks, the / symbol was missing in front of etc, I have to be very careful, it's a moment to make mistakes.
    I visualize the list, I see that there are several users, in practice each installed program corresponds to a user?
    Then I also see the last user I created and the default one I don't see, even if I haven't deleted it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    2021-May
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    772
    Normally there are at least 2 users on a system, your user account and the root user account.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    2021-May
    Posts
    14
    Ok, but everything else? It seems that every installed program sees it as a user

Similar Threads

  1. Possible Bug in Keyboard configuration
    By stefan_schumacher in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2021-10-07, 11:15
  2. please help: keyboard configuration vmware + macbook pro
    By camelman in forum Installing Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2019-12-23, 07:49

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •