Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 50

Thread: Live Build a Custom Kali ISO

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    black-hat-sec.org
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr10001 View Post
    Hi, trying to build KDE Kali ISO with 64 bit architecture. I followed the guide and when I tried to do lb build, I get "chroot: failed to run command '/user/bin/env': No such file or directory

    Any ideas?
    can you post your chroot file ???need to look what you did wrong....thks

  2. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Nik@S_DaRk View Post
    can you post your chroot file ???need to look what you did wrong....thks
    I am getting the same error message with the default chroot file. This is my output when running lb build - http://pastebin.com/TLiXASP1
    It worked at one point of time for me.

    I have one other issue. on all my ubuntu machines that i've tried to do a live build I get 2 errors from lb config. Both are running Ubuntu 13.04 (1 server / 1 desktop)
    Again using the default everything directly after cloning from git. http://pastebin.com/2jCUnTcQ

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    black-hat-sec.org
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by darkstormyrain View Post
    I am getting the same error message with the default chroot file. This is my output when running lb build - http://pastebin.com/TLiXASP1
    It worked at one point of time for me.

    I have one other issue. on all my ubuntu machines that i've tried to do a live build I get 2 errors from lb config. Both are running Ubuntu 13.04 (1 server / 1 desktop)
    Again using the default everything directly after cloning from git. http://pastebin.com/2jCUnTcQ



    go under /root/live-build-config/config/package-lists/ and open up kali.list.chroot with your text editor (gedit,leafpad...)and
    delete everything after

    # Graphical desktops depending on the architecture
    #
    # You can replace all the remaining lines with a list of the
    # packages required to install your preferred graphical desktop
    # or you can just comment everything except the packages of your
    # preferred desktop.

    and add instead replace it with this if you wnt kde

    kali-defaults
    kali-root-login
    desktop-base
    kde-plasma-desktop

    or this if you wnt gnome

    gnome-core
    kali-defaults
    kali-root-login
    desktop-base

    save the file and then open up terminal and add this :

    apt-get update
    cd live-build-config

    lb config --architecture amd64 or --architecture i386 (32bit)
    sudo lb build

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    black-hat-sec.org
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by darkstormyrain View Post
    I am getting the same error message with the default chroot file. This is my output when running lb build - http://pastebin.com/TLiXASP1
    It worked at one point of time for me.

    I have one other issue. on all my ubuntu machines that i've tried to do a live build I get 2 errors from lb config. Both are running Ubuntu 13.04 (1 server / 1 desktop)
    Again using the default everything directly after cloning from git. http://pastebin.com/2jCUnTcQ

    if you get error again ..do this
    dpkg --add-architecture amd64
    apt-get update
    cd live-build-config
    lb clean
    lb config --architecture amd64
    sudo lb build


    i m not a expert...if you need more help plz visit the oficial documentation: http://docs.kali.org/live-build/live...ustom-kali-iso
    Last edited by Nik@S_DaRk; 2013-04-19 at 08:29 AM.

  5. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    unknown
    Posts
    59
    i have the same problem i using kali 1.2 install in virtualbox
    i find the solution it is remove all after the gonome grapichs
    Last edited by Lancha; 2013-04-28 at 02:16 PM.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    17
    just a small technical question, i don't think that should open new thread because of this.:
    is the new kenel in kali repo (linux-image-3.12) is truck as older one was(3.7-trunk) or we should do it ourselves?
    thanks

  7. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    40
    Thanks bro
    root-developers community owner
    www.root-developers.org/forum/

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1

    Not enough space in filesystem

    I dont have enough space in my filesystem so I want to build the iso image in other drive. How should I do it ?

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1
    Mcr10001- I ran into the same problem, posts from a mailing list suggest it's due to the version of live-build you have installed. Hope that helps a little.

    I've been attempting to build a non-PAE i386 image, using a virtual machine running a fresh kali-1.0.6 install, amd 64. I've also tried building with the virtual machine being 32 bit. I've performed all the "update/upgrade/dist-upgrade" procedure on the virtual machines, but they both end up giving me an error "Errors were encountered while processing: dradis, dpkg returned an error (-1)". (At the end of the live-build attempt). The only thing I could find through google was an old post about Backtrack giving that error, I wasn't able to make much from it.

    I was just hoping that someone else has gotten this error and could point me in the right direction.

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    2
    Stupid question but, when you build your own ISO it does save your OS in its entirety (documents, all files)? If so, are all programs included as well and only need to be re-installed?

    Say I have eclipse on my kali linux distro, will it be there on my computer when I install the ISO, but I have to install it again?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •