Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 50 of 52

Thread: Problem with wash

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    1

    Problem with wash

    Hi,
    I'm trying to execute a wash command but it freezes. These is the output:

    Code:
    root@kali:~# wash -i mon0
    
    Wash v1.4 WiFi Protected Setup Scan Tool
    Copyright (c) 2011, Tactical Network Solutions, Craig Heffner <[email protected]>
    
    BSSID                  Channel       RSSI       WPS Version       WPS Locked        ESSID
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Could you help me please?
    Many thanks and sorry for my english!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    4
    I also get the same thing. Let me dig into. I will reply if I can find the solution before someone else post.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    3
    first let me say that i emailed the writer and he didn't answer me so don't waste your time on that.

  4. To get better responses, it will be required to give more info on your setup / wireless cards...


    From a quick test with my Alfa, it seems to work OK..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    20
    Well i notice aircrack hasn't been updated either...I am going to update now and see if that makes any difference.

  6. #6
    same issue here, I have replicated the issue with the following setups

    Alfa AWUS036H
    AtherosAR9287
    kali amd64
    kali i386


    I Have tried on a VM, full install, and running from the live cd,both architectures.
    I dont think this is an issue with drivers as everything else related to these card is fine. ie. airodump-ng lists all networks normally, however does nothing to identify WPS.

    Im unsure how TAPE was able to do it with one of the same cards im testing with (tested on desktop vm and laptop full install (Alfa)). He must have the magic setup
    Last edited by wurmt0ngue; 2013-03-16 at 01:48. Reason: update

  7. I'm having the same issues. I'm using an Alfa AWUS036H on Kali GNOME 32-bit VM. The aircrack-ng suite works - injection, WEP cracking, capturing WPA handshakes, those are all good.

    reaver and wash on the other hand, do not work. It just sits there and no APs are being printed. If I boot into Backtrack 5R3, it works fine. What other information can I provide to help debug this?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    1

    found a solution

    Quote Originally Posted by mmm286 View Post
    Hi,
    I'm trying to execute a wash command but it freezes. These is the output:

    Code:
    root@kali:~# wash -i mon0
    
    Wash v1.4 WiFi Protected Setup Scan Tool
    Copyright (c) 2011, Tactical Network Solutions, Craig Heffner <[email protected]>
    
    BSSID                  Channel       RSSI       WPS Version       WPS Locked        ESSID
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Could you help me please?
    Many thanks and sorry for my english!
    apt-get isntall libsqlite3-dev should fix the wash problem (it worked for me)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    2
    I get the same problem with wash (headers, but no data output), but reaver works fine for me. I can get the bssid info from airodump-ng ... but without wash, I don't know if it's running WPS.

    Network controller: Intel Corporation Ultimate N WiFi Link 5300
    Subsystem: Intel Corporation Device 1121
    Kernel driver in use: iwlwifi
    Last edited by steve_o; 2013-03-17 at 17:03. Reason: adding wireless card info

  10. #10
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    2
    I have two adapters:
    mon0 Atheros AR9271 ath9k - [phy1]
    Ralink RT2870/3070 rt2800usb - [phy2]

    I have the same problem.
    OS setup HDD Desktop.
    uname -a
    Linux kx 3.7-trunk-686-pae #1 SMP Debian 3.7.2-0+kali6 i686 GNU/Linux

  11. #11
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    8

    Same thing...

    Quote Originally Posted by steve_o View Post
    I get the same problem with wash (headers, but no data output), but reaver works fine for me. I can get the bssid info from airodump-ng ... but without wash, I don't know if it's running WPS.
    I also have the same problem no matter what card I use. I have 3 different
    Alfas that all worked fine in BT5. I also installed sqllite as mentioned above but it didn't make a difference.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    8

    Got it working.. (Solution ?)

    I found a fix. Make a directory in /etc called reaver so you "/etc/reaver/"
    The make file from the source for sqlite is trying to call that directory.. blah blah blah.. Anyway just make that directory and then run wash and it should work. Let me know!


    Quote Originally Posted by mmm286 View Post
    Hi,
    I'm trying to execute a wash command but it freezes. These is the output:

    Code:
    root@kali:~# wash -i mon0
    
    Wash v1.4 WiFi Protected Setup Scan Tool
    Copyright (c) 2011, Tactical Network Solutions, Craig Heffner <[email protected]>
    
    BSSID                  Channel       RSSI       WPS Version       WPS Locked        ESSID
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Could you help me please?
    Many thanks and sorry for my english!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    8
    Got it working by making a a directory in /etc/ "mkdir /etc/reaver" then run wash. Worked like a charm for me.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    15
    Hi,
    Yesterday I reported this bug. Let's see...

    http://bugs.kali.org/view.php?id=93

    Best,

  15. #15
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    2
    Hi guys i think i found the solution, that may help you.
    First of all you need to install libpcap-dev and libsqlite3-dev packages from repository.

    1. ~# apt-get install libpcap-dev
    2. ~# apt-get isntall libsqlite3-dev

    Then, you should download the reaver itself. You can do that from official site.
    3. ~# wget http://reaver-wps.googlecode.com/fil...ver-1.4.tar.gz
    Unpack tar :
    4. ~# tar -xvzf reaver-1.4.tar.gz

    Go to unpacked dir
    5. ~# cd reaver-1.4/src/
    6. ~# ./configure
    7. ~# make
    8. ~# sudo make install

    Then remove an existing wash

    8. ~# sudo rm /usr/bin/wash

    copy wash from src direcory to /usr/bin/

    9. ~# cp wash /usr/bin/wash

    Now try wash

    10. ~# wash -i mon0
    and it should work. =)

    That's all. I my case I fix the problem now it works properly. I hope it helps you too.

  16. Quote Originally Posted by wurmt0ngue View Post
    same issue here, I have replicated the issue with the following setups

    Alfa AWUS036H
    AtherosAR9287
    kali amd64
    kali i386


    I Have tried on a VM, full install, and running from the live cd,both architectures.
    I dont think this is an issue with drivers as everything else related to these card is fine. ie. airodump-ng lists all networks normally, however does nothing to identify WPS.

    Im unsure how TAPE was able to do it with one of the same cards im testing with (tested on desktop vm and laptop full install (Alfa)). He must have the magic setup
    I have to come back on my initial post
    Although it wasnt freezing, after running for a while I too noticed that no networks were showing up when I know for fact they are there..

    So I stand corrected !

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by h1d3n View Post
    Hi guys i think i found the solution, that may help you.
    First of all you need to install libpcap-dev and libsqlite3-dev packages from repository.

    1. ~# apt-get install libpcap-dev
    2. ~# apt-get isntall libsqlite3-dev

    Then, you should download the reaver itself. You can do that from official site.
    3. ~# wget http://reaver-wps.googlecode.com/fil...ver-1.4.tar.gz
    Unpack tar :
    4. ~# tar -xvzf reaver-1.4.tar.gz

    Go to unpacked dir
    5. ~# cd reaver-1.4/src/
    6. ~# ./configure
    7. ~# make
    8. ~# sudo make install

    Then remove an existing wash

    8. ~# sudo rm /usr/bin/wash

    copy wash from src direcory to /usr/bin/

    9. ~# cp wash /usr/bin/wash

    Now try wash

    10. ~# wash -i mon0
    and it should work. =)

    That's all. I my case I fix the problem now it works properly. I hope it helps you too.
    This fixed it for me too. Thanks!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    2
    Thanks! I created the /etc/reaver directory, and that worked for me. (I'm not sure I understand WHY that worked, but it worked.)
    Last edited by steve_o; 2013-03-20 at 01:26. Reason: clarified WHAT worked, since it didn't include the quoted text

  19. #19
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    8
    I was having the same issue until I made a new directory /etc/reaver/ Now it's working great!

    Cheers!

  20. #20
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Location
    Jasper, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    7
    I too created the missing /etc/reaver and its working fantastic. Thanks to whomever discovered this simple fix.

  21. #21
    the combination of the following worked for me

    1. ~# apt-get install libpcap-dev
    2. ~# apt-get isntall libsqlite3-dev

    and also making the /etc/reaver reaver folder and setting very loose permissions to it.


    Now im back up and running with reaver/wash/wifite. Albeit it seems that wash is very slow, you may need to let it run for a minute or so and you will start to see networks.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    5
    Thank you.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    23
    Worked for me as well.

    Sort of surprised Kali shipped so broken.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Location
    where you can hear the silence
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by crypiehef View Post
    I found a fix. Make a directory in /etc called reaver so you "/etc/reaver/"
    The make file from the source for sqlite is trying to call that directory.. blah blah blah.. Anyway just make that directory and then run wash and it should work. Let me know!

    plus one here too, thanks

  25. #25
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Location
    Root
    Posts
    13
    This worked for me all is fine now, thanks very much.

    Quote Originally Posted by crypiehef View Post
    I found a fix. Make a directory in /etc called reaver so you "/etc/reaver/"
    The make file from the source for sqlite is trying to call that directory.. blah blah blah.. Anyway just make that directory and then run wash and it should work. Let me know!
    The only reason that you fail is because you quit....

  26. #26
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    2
    Ya I'm noticing the same issue with the my Alpha that it does not detect WPS in any program, even wifite.

  27. #27
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by ahbvrh View Post
    apt-get isntall libsqlite3-dev should fix the wash problem (it worked for me)
    Same problem here: kali-linux amd64 1.0 seems to have a bug with wash, no networks are shown. If I do the same with back track 5r3, everyhing works fine !!!
    apt-get isntall libsqlite3-dev did NOT solve the problem for me

  28. #28
    Hello, I had the same problem as everyone else. Wash would not detect any networks. I made the /etc/reaver directory and it still didn't work. After that all I did was disconnect from any network I was connected to and ran wash -i mon0 and BAM! It picked up like 8 networks.

  29. #29
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    354
    Well, I have an Alfa AWUS036H, and wash do not work..

    I have a Kali 64bit distro, HDD installation, Gnome Version.

    So I had to use airodump-ng to see mine (AP with wpa2), but you do not know if it is WPS. I know mine is not...

  30. #30
    Quote Originally Posted by maverik35 View Post
    Well, I have an Alfa AWUS036H, and wash do not work..

    I have a Kali 64bit distro, HDD installation, Gnome Version.

    So I had to use airodump-ng to see mine (AP with wpa2), but you do not know if it is WPS. I know mine is not...
    did you make sure to connect from all networks before running wash? That worked for me for some reason. Just make sure you're not connected to any networks and then run wash. let me know if it worked.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    12
    same problem with me, monitor mode working fine, injection worknig too, but wash not work,
    root@kali:~# wash -i mon0

    Wash v1.4 WiFi Protected Setup Scan Tool
    Copyright (c) 2011, Tactical Network Solutions, Craig Heffner <[email protected]>

    BSSID Channel RSSI WPS Version WPS Locked ESSID
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    please if any body have a sulotion for this post it here.

  32. #32
    Join Date
    2013-Apr
    Location
    London
    Posts
    10
    I have same problem. Installing the libsqlite3-dev didn't help. Its working ok in BT3 on Alfa, but in Kali for some reason it isn't.

  33. #33
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    7
    anashlali, which of the above mentioned solutions did you try already??

  34. #34
    Join Date
    2013-Apr
    Location
    London
    Posts
    10
    Just read the whole topic and there it is.

  35. #35
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    7
    Read the thread from beginning to end several times, made the /etc/reaver folder... Didn't work, then I followed the instructions of

    1. ~# apt-get install libpcap-dev
    2. ~# apt-get isntall libsqlite3-dev

    during the ./configure step of the instructions, I got "checking for pcap_open_live in -lpcap... no" and finally "error: pcap library not found!"

    Needless to say, wash has not worked. I am running the XFCE interface, not sure if that matters though.

  36. #36
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by crypiehef View Post
    Got it working by making a a directory in /etc/ "mkdir /etc/reaver" then run wash. Worked like a charm for me.
    Thanks it worked

  37. #37
    Join Date
    2013-Apr
    Posts
    4
    Same problem here:

    Wash not detecting any WPS, and mine as WPS for testing.

    Card: Alfa AWUS036H
    VMware image, didnt try using HDD install or ISO Boot.
    Kali apt-get updated and all latest installed.

    Anyone have solved this?

    Thanks

  38. #38
    Hey there... I don't know if this is the same problem, but I was having an intermittent issue where it would freeze like that in wash.

    VMware - Alfa - Kali
    and also on separate HW laptop and Alfa.

    Did you make sure to kill the processes that airmon-ng says will interfere before turning on mon0?
    I found out that if I did this, I did not have any problems anymore with wash or airodump-ng not finding APs

    You can see how I did it in my vid:
    *removed youtube video*
    Last edited by g0tmi1k; 2013-06-04 at 08:54.

  39. #39
    Join Date
    2013-Jun
    Posts
    1
    mkdir /etc/reaver

  40. #40
    Join Date
    2013-Jun
    Posts
    4
    I had the same issue with Wash as everyone else here. So I followed the recommended advice "mkdir /etc/reaver". Wash is working now. Thanks all.

  41. #41
    Join Date
    2013-Jul
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    3
    Try using the -C flag. It ignores fcs(frame checksum errors. frames of corrupted data) while executing the command. Should work.

  42. #42
    Join Date
    2013-Sep
    Posts
    14
    Just use the following command.

    wash -i mon0 -C

    Problem solved.

  43. #43
    Join Date
    2013-Oct
    Posts
    1
    Just thought i'd chime in in case someone stumbles across this post. The reason it isnt working is because a directory doesnt exist where wash is attempting to write the db file. The fix is simply a folder creation.

    mkdir /etc/reaver

    Fixed.

  44. #44
    Join Date
    2013-Oct
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by h1d3n View Post
    Hi guys i think i found the solution, that may help you.
    First of all you need to install libpcap-dev and libsqlite3-dev packages from repository.

    1. ~# apt-get install libpcap-dev
    2. ~# apt-get isntall libsqlite3-dev

    Then, you should download the reaver itself. You can do that from official site.
    3. ~# wget http://reaver-wps.googlecode.com/fil...ver-1.4.tar.gz
    Unpack tar :
    4. ~# tar -xvzf reaver-1.4.tar.gz

    Go to unpacked dir
    5. ~# cd reaver-1.4/src/
    6. ~# ./configure
    7. ~# make
    8. ~# sudo make install

    Then remove an existing wash

    8. ~# sudo rm /usr/bin/wash

    copy wash from src direcory to /usr/bin/

    9. ~# cp wash /usr/bin/wash

    Now try wash

    10. ~# wash -i mon0
    and it should work. =)
    This worked for me, after restart. Thanks a lot h1d3n.
    For some reason newly installed Reaver set its save directory to /usr/local/etc/reaver.

  45. #45
    Join Date
    2013-Oct
    Posts
    1
    Yeah ! Greetly needed info found here . Thanks a lot dudes .

  46. #46
    for sure you must disconnect from the Internet, as you have to do with airodump-ng if you want to be able to scan all the channels and not just the one you are connected in.

  47. #47
    Join Date
    2014-Apr
    Posts
    4
    I tried all that and still the same..

    Code error :

    wash v1.4 wifi protected setup scan tool
    Copyright (c) 2011, tactical network solutions, craig heffner <[email protected]>

    [x] error: failed to open 'mon0' for capturing


    Any ideas ?!
    Tnkx

  48. #48
    Join Date
    2013-Jul
    Posts
    844
    Our teams solution to all these problems with kali-linux 1.06 is to simply run an updated version of 1.05. If your main interests are aircrack-ng, reaver, mdk3 phishing etc we have six computers all running fine. A simple solution is to just make a persistent usb with 1.05 and update it. We suggest you not upgrade. We are waiting for 1.07.

    Musket Team Delta

  49. #49
    Join Date
    2014-Apr
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by mmusket33 View Post
    Our teams solution to all these problems with kali-linux 1.06 is to simply run an updated version of 1.05. If your main interests are aircrack-ng, reaver, mdk3 phishing etc we have six computers all running fine. A simple solution is to just make a persistent usb with 1.05 and update it. We suggest you not upgrade. We are waiting for 1.07.

    Musket Team Delta
    Thanks for the answer !

    You have any idea of how log it will take to release the 1.07?

    And just for record, im using the 1.06 on macbook pro '14

    Thanks

  50. #50
    Join Date
    2014-Dec
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by h1d3n View Post
    Hi guys i think i found the solution, that may help you.
    First of all you need to install libpcap-dev and libsqlite3-dev packages from repository.

    1. ~# apt-get install libpcap-dev
    2. ~# apt-get isntall libsqlite3-dev

    Then, you should download the reaver itself. You can do that from official site.
    3. ~# wget http://reaver-wps.googlecode.com/fil...ver-1.4.tar.gz
    Unpack tar :
    4. ~# tar -xvzf reaver-1.4.tar.gz

    Go to unpacked dir
    5. ~# cd reaver-1.4/src/
    6. ~# ./configure
    7. ~# make
    8. ~# sudo make install

    Then remove an existing wash

    8. ~# sudo rm /usr/bin/wash

    copy wash from src direcory to /usr/bin/

    9. ~# cp wash /usr/bin/wash

    Now try wash

    10. ~# wash -i mon0
    and it should work. =)

    That's all. I my case I fix the problem now it works properly. I hope it helps you too.
    how do i unpacked dir in step 5

    this is what happen to me when i do step 5
    root@kali:~# cd reaver-1.4/src/
    bash: cd: reaver-1.4/src/: No such file or directory

Similar Threads

  1. [Problem][Kali 2.0]Neither wash or airodump seems to work.
    By DWarez in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2015-08-21, 19:44
  2. "Wash" Command problem
    By Pedrarakne in forum General Archive
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2015-07-30, 08:34
  3. Strange Wash/Reaver problem
    By ald4 in forum General Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-08-04, 16:34

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •