Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: screen resolution

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2018-Apr
    Posts
    1

    screen resolution

    i'm a fairly new user and was curious if kali supports 1920x1080 resolution.

    i'm running straight off my laptop hard drive, using an intel hd 3000 gpu. the highest output i can achieve is 1280x720 (or thereabouts)
    I've read that running in virtualbox or similar program you can achieve 1920x1080, but is this possible natively? 'm pretty sure I achieved 1920x1080 on a windows installation.

    Thanks for any help you can offer.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2018-Apr
    Posts
    1
    I am using the following scripts to make Kali do my bidding. (I don't remember who originally wrote the xrandr.sh script):

    Script 1:

    #!/bin/bash
    # 1920x1080.sh
    /scripts/xrandr.sh 1920 1080 60

    Script 2:

    #!/bin/bash
    # xrandr.sh
    #If no argument is specified, ask for it and exit
    if [[ -z "$@" ]];
    then
    echo "An argument is needed to run this script";
    exit
    else
    arg="$@"
    #Basic check to make sure argument number is valid. If not, display error and exit
    if [[ $(($(echo $arg | grep -o "\s" | wc --chars) / 2 )) -ne 2 ]];
    then
    echo "Invalid Parameters. You need to specify parameters in the format "width height refreshRate""
    echo "For example setResolution "2560 1440 60""
    exit
    fi

    #Save stuff in variables and then use xrandr with those variables
    modename=$(echo $arg | sed 's/\s/_/g')
    display=$(xrandr | grep -Po '.+(?=\sconnected)')
    if [[ "$(xrandr|grep $modename)" = "" ]];
    then
    xrandr --newmode $modename $(gtf $(echo $arg) | grep -oP '(?<="\s\s).+') &&
    xrandr --addmode $display $modename
    fi
    xrandr --output $display --mode $modename

    #If no error occurred, display success message
    if [[ $? -eq 0 ]];
    then
    echo "Display changed successfully to $arg"
    fi
    fi

    <<COMMENT
    #Manual steps with explanation ahead by @debloper
    # First we need to get the modeline string for xrandr
    # Luckily, the tool "gtf" will help you calculate it.
    # All you have to do is to pass the resolution & the-
    # refresh-rate as the command parameters:
    gtf 1920 1080 60

    # In this case, the horizontal resolution is 1920px the
    # vertical resolution is 1080px & refresh-rate is 60Hz.
    # IMPORTANT: BE SURE THE MONITOR SUPPORTS THE RESOLUTION

    # Typically, it outputs a line starting with "Modeline"
    # e.g. "1920x1080_60.00" 172.80 1920 2040 2248 2576 1080 1081 1084 1118 -HSync +Vsync
    # Copy this entire string (except for the starting "Modeline")

    # Now, use "xrandr" to make the system recognize a new
    # display mode. Pass the copied string as the parameter
    # to the --newmode option:
    xrandr --newmode "1920x1080_60.00" 172.80 1920 2040 2248 2576 1080 1081 1084 1118 -HSync +Vsync

    # Well, the string within the quotes is the nick/alias
    # of the display mode - you can as well pass something
    # as "MyAwesomeHDResolution". But, careful! :-|

    # Then all you have to do is to add the new mode to the
    # display you want to apply, like this:
    xrandr --addmode VGA1 "1920x1080_60.00"

    # VGA1 is the display name, it might differ for you.
    # Run "xrandr" without any parameters to be sure.
    # The last parameter is the mode-alias/name which
    # you've set in the previous command (--newmode)

    # It should add the new mode to the display & apply it.
    # Usually unlikely, but if it doesn't apply automatically
    # then force it with this command:
    xrandr --output VGA1 --mode "1920x1080_60.00"

    # That's it... Enjoy the new awesome high-res display!
    COMMENT

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2018-Apr
    Posts
    3
    Yes It supports 1920x1080. I can live boot Kali in Full HD Resolution .

Similar Threads

  1. Help with Screen Resolution
    By kernow in forum General Archive
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2016-09-23, 17:22
  2. Raspberry Pi and Resolution Screen
    By kaliforniya in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2016-08-26, 13:48
  3. Need help with screen resolution
    By Joshpower9 in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2016-01-01, 03:03

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •